Interviewee: Gus Kaufman
Interviewer: Wesley Chenault
Date of Interview: October 3, 2011
Extent: 39 pages
Born in Macon, Georgia in 1946, Gus B. Kaufman, Jr., Ph.D. is a clinical psychologist who has practiced at An Open Space for twenty years. He has co-founded five non-profit organizations, including Men Stopping Violence, and published many chapters and articles.
Kaufman begins by recalling his childhood in Macon, Georgia, as part of a progressive, politically-involved Jewish family. He describes his strong anti-war sentiment as a recent college graduate in 1969. Starting in 1971, he began his non-linear path of coming out, which he identifies as drawing to a close when he came out to his parents around age 40. Kaufman then discusses his political activism, his career as a clinical psychologist, and his experience starting multiple non-profit organizations, including Men Stopping Violence. He concludes by reflecting on his relationships.
Interviewee: Collin Kelley
Interviewer: Franklin Abbott
Date of interview: March 15, 2019
Extent: 1 audio file; 1 video file
View transcript and video of interview
Collin Kelley is the author of the The Venus Trilogy of novels (Conquering Venus, Remain In Light and Leaving Paris) published by Sibling Rivalry Press. Remain In Light was the runner-up for 2013 Georgia Author of the Year Award in Fiction and a finalist for the Townsend Prize for Fiction. His poetry collections include Better To Travel (2003, Poetry Atlanta Press), Slow To Burn (2006, MetroMania Press), After the Poison (2008, Finishing Line Press) and Render (2013, Sibling Rivalry Press), chosen by the American Library Association for its 2014 Over the Rainbow Book List. Kelley is also the author of the short story collection, Kiss Shot (2012, Amazon Kindle Exclusive). A recipient of the Georgia Author of the Year Award, Deep South Festival of Writers Award and Goodreads Poetry Award, Kelley’s poetry, reviews, essays and interviews have appeared in magazines, journals and anthologies around the world.
Kelley begins by discussing his childhood and family life. He discusses his love of reading, education, and early journalist jobs. He spends a great deal of time discussing his trilogy of novels and other writers and artists who have inspired him (Margaret Mitchell, Kate Bush, Anne Sexton). He concludes the interview discussing his career as a poet and his social media presence. He reads and discusses some of his poetry at the very end of the interview.
Interviewee: Elizabeth Knowlton
Date of Interview
Extent: 58 pages
Note: Knowlton was originally interviewed for the Georgia Women's Movement Oral History Project
A member of various groups, including the Feminist Theatre Group, ALFA (Atlanta Feminist-Lesbian Alliance), Atlanta Socialist Feminist Women's Union, Woman Song Theatre II and the Writer's Group, Knowlton has published articles, book reviews, poems and political essays, including a paper on 19th Century Georgia lesbian love letters: "Only a Woman Like Yourself."
Knowlton discusses her personal, academic and professional background, including how she became involved in the Women’s Liberation Movement in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. She also provides a basic history of the Women’s Liberation Movement as an outcropping of socialism and feminism and how it separated from the socialist movement because of their interest in issues of personal politics. Knowlton describes her involvement in a number of organizations including "Group 27," which started a day center called "Community School for People Under Six." After moving to Atlanta in 1974, she became involved with ALFA (Atlanta Lesbian-Feminist Alliance) which was an umbrella organization of other socialist and feminist groups. The central issues contained in her oral history concern reproductive control, freedom from sexual abuse, daycare and sexuality. She also discusses the conflicts within the Women’s Movement over the ERA.
Special Collections and Archives
Archives for Research on Women and Gender
Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives
Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law
Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
Library South, 8th floor