Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project: W

Willard, Jeff

Interviewee: Jeff Willard
Interviewer: Hillery Rink
Date of Interview: March 18, 2014

 

 

Biography:
Social Activist Jeff Willard was born in St. Louis, MO. A volunteer for the ACLU of Georgia and Georgia Equality, he also serves on the board of the Jewish Community Relations Council of Atlanta, and is Co-Chair of the Social Action Committee for Temple Beth Tikvah. He was the Regional Co-Chair of the Social Action Committee for the New Jersey West Hudson Valley Council of the Union for Reform Judaism. He also served on the Union for Reform Judaism's National Commission for Social Action. He lives in Alpharetta, GA with his partner.

Williams, Roddy

Interviewee: Roddy Williams
Interviewer: Morna Gerrard
Date of interview:
Extent: 1 audio file; 1 video file

Watch video of the interview

Wood, Andrew

Interviewee: Andrew P. Wood
Interviewer: Andy Reisinger
Date of Interview: June 24, 2014

Interviewee: Andrew P. Wood
Interviewer: Andy Reisinger
Date of Interview: August 19, 2014
Extent: 97 pages

Excerpt: Andrew Wood talks about ACT UP helping the organizers of Jerusalem House to establish an AIDS hospice.

Biography:
Born in Atlanta in 1962, Andrew Wood is a graphic designer and gay activist. The son of two doctors, Wood attended public schools in Dekalb County and worked in public radio. When he moved to San Francisco to attend art school in 1980, he joined the thriving  organization, the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence - a charitable group of gay activists who dressed in nuns habits and performed street theater. While in San Francisco, Wood experienced the AIDS epidemic which caused him to return to Atlanta. After the Democratic National Convention in 1988, he and a handful of fellow protesters started an Atlanta Chapter of ACT/UP, in an effort to bring attention to the plight of AIDS sufferers. Wood moved to New Orleans in 1990 and stayed there until 2004 when he returned to Atlanta.

Woolard, Cathy

Interviewee: Cathy Woolard
Interviewer: Susan Wells
Date of interview: September 26, 2018
Extent: 1 audio file; 1 video file

Wilder, Terri

Interviewee: Terri Wilder
Interviewer: Morna Gerrard
Date of interview: August 25, 2020

Interviewee: Terri Wilder
Interviewer: Morna Gerrard
Date of interview: September 1, 2020

Interviewee: Terri Wilder
Interviewer: Morna Gerrard
Date of interview: September 21, 2020

Interviewee: Terri Wilder
Interviewer: Morna Gerrard
Date of interview: October ?, 2020

Interviewee: Terri Wilder
Interviewer: Morna Gerrard
Date of interview: March 5, 2021

Biography:
Terri L. Wilder is a social worker and advocate for the rights of people living with HIV/AIDS, the LGBT community, and people with myalgic encephalomyelitis. She has worked in HIV and LGBT health since 1989 providing HIV social services, coordinating education for clients and medical providers, and advocating for policy change. She has presented at local, national, and international conferences on a variety of topics. Many of her articles on HIV can be found in AIDS Survival Project’s Survival News, The Body’s Web site, POZ Web site, as well as Project Inform’s Web site. She served on the New York Governor’s Task Force to End AIDS (EtE) as well as his Hepatitis C Elimination Task Force, and is currently a member of the New York State Department of Health AIDS Advisory Council EtE Subcommittee. She is an expert in HIV and LGBT health and was recognized in The POZ 100: Celebrating Women edition of POZ magazine (2017). Wilder is a 1992 graduate of the University of Georgia (UGA) School of Social Work where she earned her MSW. She graduated from UGA with a Bachelor in Social Work in 1989.

Abstract, August 25, 2020
In her first interview, she talks about he childhood, youth, education, and choice of profession. She also describes her early volunteer work for AID Atlanta.

Abstract, September 1, 2020
In this interview, Wilder talks about her volunteer work at the Grady clinic (1990-1991), educating newly diagnosed AIDS patients. She also describes her move to Minnesota, where she was a part-time AIDS case manager, and her return to Atlanta. She talks about joining the AIDS Survival Project, where she took over the organization's Operation Survive.

Abstract, September 21, 2020
In this interview, Wilder talks about attending meetings of ACT UP New York. She also describes her health issues.

Abstract, October 27, 2020
In this interview, Wilder talks about the influence of her great grandmothers and her aunt. She also describes her work with children and families affected by HIV/AIDS, the AIDS Survival Project, and the Campaign for Microbicides.

Abstract, March 5, 2021
In this interview, Wilder talks about her work with the New York Department of Health and Mount Sinai Hospital. She also describes the consulting work that she has done since 2019. She ends the interview by reflecting on the politics of the Trump administration.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory