Skip to main content

Gay Spirit Visions Oral History Project: K

Kaupman, Gary

Interviewee: Gary Kaupman
Interviewer: Cal Gough, with Randall Cumbaa
Date of Interview: June 21, 2015
Extent: mp3 audio file; mp4 video file

View transcript and video of interview

Biography:
Gary Kaupman was born in Atlanta in 1944 but was primarily raised in Atlanta. Kaupman was briefly married to a woman before coming out as gay. He became involved with the Radical Faeries in the early 1980s and has been part of Gay Spirit Visions since it formed.

Abstract:
Kaupman begins y discussing his family life and background. He talks about his marriage to his ex-wife and describes the relationships he has had since the marriage ended. Kaupman speaks extensively about his involvement with Gay Spirit Visions and attendance at GSV conferences. He shares memories of many GSV members who have died.

Kendrick, Peter

Interviewee: Peter Kendrick
Interviewer:  Cal Gough, with Randall Cumbaa
Date of Interview: October 10, 2015
Extent: mp3 audio file; mp4 video file

View transcript and video of interview

Biography:
Peter Kendrick was born in Queens, N.Y. in 1948. In 1979, Kendrick along with three others purchased Running Water Farm on Roan Mountain, which was the location for several gatherings of people in the Radical Faeries Movement between 1978 and 1989. After Running Water ended, Kendrick became one of the main organizers for what would come to be known as Gay Spirit Visions.

Abstract:
Kendrick shares moments from his life, beginning with his family’s history. Much of this interview focuses on his experience with Running Water, and helping to create and organize Gay Spirit Visions. A major point of emphasis in this interview is his relationship with the late Rocco Patt, who was also heavily involved with both Running Water and Gay Spirit Visions.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory