Skip to main content

Gay Spirit Visions Oral History Project: G

Goatee, Michael

Interviewee: Michael Goatee
Interviewer: Cal Gough, with Randall Cumbaa
Date of Interview: January 30, 2015
Extent: mp3 audio file; mp4 video file

View transcript and video of interview

Biography:
Michael Goatee was born in Jacksonville, Fla. in 1947. He studied advertising and art at the University of Florida and moved to Atlanta after college. Goatee currently resides in Avondale Estates, Ga., where he works as a graphic designer and fine artist.

Abstract:
Goatee explores the development of his identity as a gay man as well as his spirituality. He discusses how his spiritual seeking led him to Gay Spirit Visions and describes his experiences attending GSV conferences. Goatee talks about the role of his friendships and romantic relationships throughout the course of his life. He describes the role of art in his life and talks about his relationship with New Mexico, which he describes as a mecca for artists.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory