Skip to main content

Gay Spirit Visions Oral History Project: J

James, Tony

Interviewee: Tony James
Interviewer: Cal Gough, with Randall Cumbaa
Date of interview: September 26, 2015
Extent: mp3 audio file

Watch video of interview

Jones, Jim

Interviewee: Jim Jones
Interviewer: Cal Gough, with Randall Cumbaa
Date of interview: August 1, 2017
Extent: mp3 audio file; mp4 video file

View transcript and video of interview

Biography:
Jim Jones was born and raised in Kingsport, Tenn. He grew up around his extended family, who were very religious. Jones attended the University of Tennessee, where he began exploring his identity as a gay man and as part of a gay community. He eventually became involved with the Radical Faeries and later with Gay Spirit Visions, in which he has been actively involved for many years.

Abstract:
Jones describes growing up in Kingsport, Tenn. with his conservative parents and grandparents and a brother who was also gay. He talks about coming into his personal and social identity as a gay man as a college student, and discusses the evolution of his friendships and career. Jones discusses in detail his experiences attending and helping to plan conferences for Gay Spirit Visions.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory