Skip to main content

Gay Spirit Visions Oral History Project: B

Beaumont, Roger

Interviewee: Roger Beaumont
Interviewer: Cal Gough, with Randall Cumbaa
Date of interview: July 23, 2016
Extent: mp3 audio file; mp4 video file

View transcript and video of interview

Biography:
Roger Beaumont was born in Quebec, Canada in 1936. He was the youngest of ten children. He was sent to Catholic boarding school in Maine for his education. He moved to South Florida in 1956. He attended the University of Miami. He married his wife in 1960. Beaumont became a teacher and taught French and English.

Abstract:
Beaumont begins by discussing his early childhood in Canada and then in Maine. He discusses the significance of the church in his early life. He also discusses his coming out story and the path leading to that event. He then focuses on Gay Spirit Vision and his time there. He also discusses other communities/groups he participates in. The interview concludes with a discussion of Beaumont's memories of GSV members who have passed away.

Blackwelder, Kraig

Interviewee: Kraig Blackwelder
Interviewer: Randall Cumbaa
Date of interview: April 14, 2018
Extent: mp3 audio file; mp4 video file

View transcript and video of interview

Biography:
Kraig Blackwelder was born in Cody, Wyo. in 1968. He attended the University of Oregon, where he learned about and became active in the Radical Faeries. Blackwelder lives in Chicago, where he founded a chapter of Gay Spirit Visions. He is a published author.

Abstract:
Blackwelder discusses his family background and talks about the difficulties he had growing up in Cody, Wyo. He talks about joining the Radical Faeries in college and later becoming involved with Gay Spirit Visions. Blackwelder shares memories of various GSV conferences and talks about helping organize the conferences. He reminisces about members of Gay Spirit Visions who have died and ends the interview by talking about his hopes for the future of the organization.

Brock, John

Interviewee: John Brock
Interviewer: Cal Gough, with Randall Cumbaa
Date of Interview: July 11, 2015
Extent: mp3 audio file

Listen to audio of interview

Brochinsky, William

Interviewee: William Brochinsky
Interviewer: Randall Cumbaa
Date of interview: November 8, 2018
Extent: mp3 audio file; mp4 video file

Watch video of interview

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory