Skip to main content

Handouts for You: Step by Step with Panorama of Views

Where you can find your way through our extensive handout collection, and yes, they ARE handouts!

Step by Step with Panorama of Views

Where to Go

Return to the Popular Sources Page.

Return to Handouts for You.

Search Panorama of Views.

Step by Step with Panorama of Views

Panorama of Views is a curated periodical collection that offers background information and credible opinion on almost any topic. Because the Panorama draws from a variety of library databases, searching it takes a bit more work than other databases, but the results may be just what you need.

1) To find Panorama of Views, set the big, Discover box on the Library web page to Research Guides with the scroll box on the left. Type in Panorama, and click the Search link on the right.

searching for the Panorama of Views

Image

2) Click on the link for Panorama of Views. It should appear near the top of the list.

3) The Panorama features a large table of links to many publications.

The Panorama table up close and not quite personal

Image

4) Think about your topic.

Does your topic involve public policy or social change? Do you think the government should (or shouldn't) pass or change laws or society should(or shouldn't) adopt new ways?

Examples include, passing a law to permit/outlaw abortion, not using cell phones in restaurants and other social spaces, or school districts reducing or abolishing homework.

If the answer to any of the questions above is yes or if your topic resembles the examples, select at least one publication from the two blocks on the left side of the upper part of the table and also one from the two blocks on the upper part of the table's right side. (See image above)

Is your topic technical, scientific, or health related?

Examples include the effectiveness of vaccinations, geoengineering for climate change, or glycophosphate and cancer risk.

If your topic resembles one of these, then select publications from the lower left box in the Panorama table. (See image above).

If your professor permits or requires you to use outside web sources, the Panorama table's lower right box offers, credible, opinion web sites. (See image above).

5) Choose a publication and click on its burgundy link. Nearly all magazines, blogs, and newspapers offer a Search within this publication option.

6) A publication that says Search Publications next to it, is in a ProQuest database and needs an extra step.

a) You will find yourself in a ProQuest database after clicking the item's link.

b) Ignore the search box, and click the Publications link, instead.

c) Type your publication's title in the box that appears and click the search icon.

ProQuest listed periodicals need an extra click.

Image

7) When you search within some publications in EBSCOHost databases, you need to put a capital AND between the text appears in the searchbox and your subject. Don't remove the text, which is usually the publication's title and sometimes a date. See the example below.

Extra text when it says EBSCOHost

Image

8) After you launch a search for your topic, in a magazine, journal, or newspaper, you should see a list of titles to full text articles. Click on the titles of those that interest you.

9) Many, but not all publications offer automatic citation makers. Most will let you download print or email your article as well.

10) Remember if you have any questions, you can always ask the library staff.