Some library resources can be linked from the URL in the address bar, but not all. IMost EBSCO database links, for example, are specific to the session and will NOT get you back to the page. (In fact, they don't work at all.) Below are some guidelines for getting shareable links.
Best practice, in general is to look for a permalink option.
Databases Link to databases using the URL in the Databases A-Z list. Either:
Catalog https://gilfind.gsu.edu
The Linking to Articles and Films Libguide gives more information on other library resources.
Research Guides - the URL in the address bar works, but many have friendly URLs for the homepage. Friendly URLs can be created by the guide editors for ANY page. Boxes within the guide can also be linked, but you need editing privileges to get the link; contact the owner or a Libguide Admin (Jason Puckett or other).
Short Links to Library webpages (and more): The library has a link shortener available to anyone. The Link Shortener FAQ lists some common links and links to a full list, which is updated periodically.
On this page, you will explore some of the resources frequently used in Freshman and Sophomore assignments.
These video tutorials demonstrate some of our most frequently used search tools, including the Primo catalog and Research Databases.
General
Current Topics
Literary research
The physical collection
Do you have a copy of Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow?
Do you have a print book about water pollution?
Can you help me find literary criticism in print for "The Yellow Wallpaper?"
Can you help me find literary criticism online for "The Yellow Wallpaper?"
Can you help me find information online about water pollution?
Can you help me find an ebook or print book about resume writing for new grads?
What databases do you recommend for doing research for my literature paper?
I found an article on Google Scholar but it costs $40 and I want to know if GSU has access: Moi, T. ""First and Foremost a Human Being": Idealism, Theatre, and Gender in A Doll's House." Modern Drama, vol. 49 no. 3, 2006, pp. 256-284.
How do I find articles from the New York Times or Wall Street Journal?
How do I find out who my representatives in Congress are and how to get in touch with them?
Many of our students and faculty refer to research databases as "GALILEO." At GPC, the term "GALILEO" was used as a generic term to refer to all available databases. (Like "Kleenex" for all tissues.) Many high schools and public libraries do the same.
We are working to transition to the more accurate term, "research databases" as the generic term, reserving "GALILEO" only for the GALILEO service. This is more accurate and prepares users to ask for research databases when outside the state of Georgia. It also avoids the misinterpretation that GALILEO is akin to Google in being a one-size-fits-all search for all available resources. GALILEO is a collection of databases we have access as part of the University System, but we subscribe to many additional databases. In addition, the GALILEO Discover Search does not include all GALILEO databases, much less all GSU databases.
Encourage students to use the library homepage as the starting point for their research rather than the GALILEO homepage. This avoids the need for the GALILEO password and provides easy access to all GSU databases.
How do I get a book from another campus? (intercampus loan)
How do I get a book from another USG school? (GIL Express)
How do I get an book from outside the USG? (Interlibrary loan)
How do I get a journal article from another USG school? (interlibrary loan)
How do I see what I have checked out or renew a book online? (My Account)
How do I print a PDF from GALILEO?
