In this section we will talk about using the Discover tool and other ways to navigate the library's databases. Having a good working knowledge of these resources is essential to connecting patrons with the information they need, but since our database list has 455 entries, we will only be hitting the highlights of some of our most frequently used databases in this section!
The library has over 400 databases. Some are part of our statewide consortium, GALILEO, while others are paid for by Georgia State University Library. The list of databases can vary from year to year -- usually changing with the fiscal year on July 1.
All of the databases can be accessed through the library homepage. The "Discover" search includes most EBSCO databases, our catalog resources, and some other databases, but it is important to remember that it does not include ALL of our database resources.
Pros and Cons of the Discover Search
In this unit, you will complete a tutorial for the Discover Search and learn some basic search strategies. Next, you will explore some commonly used databases on your own to complete a worksheet. This is only the beginning! As a Reference Specialist, you should familiarize yourself with new and existing databases and attend to notifications about changes to the content or interfaces.
First, complete this tutorial:
In this exercise, you will explore some GSU databases. Print one "Database Exploration Exercise Worksheet" for each four databases you want to explore.
For each database, you will be asked to explore:
Databases to explore:
Video databases:
