Share

Karuna Counseling Oral History Project: A

Adams, Faughn

Interviewee: Faughn Adams
Interviewer: Ilene Schroeder
Date of interview: June 15, 2017

Transcript and audio of interview

Biography:
Faughn Adams is a licensed psychologist, practicing in Decatur, Ga. They are a Fellow of the Georgia Psychological Association and a member of the Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality (SSSS), the National Coalition for Sexual Freedom (NCSF), and the World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH). With WPATH. Adams is also on the organizing committee for the Global Education Initiative (GEI) where they serve as part of the national teaching faculty and as master onboarder for the professional mentor program.

Abstract:
In this interview, Faughn Adams describes growing up in a small Kentucky town, where they were part of an underground queer community. They describe the trajectory of their career and their involvement in radical political action after moving to Chicago in the 1980s. Adams discusses various relationships, their matriarchal family background, their lifelong interest in motorcycles, and the various places in which they have lived. They end the interview with a discussion of their experience researching the Jane Collective, an underground network of women who provided abortions in Chicago before abortion was legalized.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory