GSU Library Research Guides: CHINESE STUDIES INFORMATION PORTAL: Education

Educational Reform

The following are a few recommended books in the University Library about educational reform in China. For additional books, search the Library Catalog, GIL-Find.

Higher Education in Contemporary China: Beyond the Expansion by John W. Morgan & Bin Wu
Call Number: Online Resource. Click the title above to access this book
ISBN: 0415564131
Publication Date: 2011
A major transformation of Chinese higher education (HE) has taken place. China is exceptional among lower income countries in using tertiary education as a development strategy on such a scale. This book evaluates the prospects for Chinese and foreign HE providers, regulators and other stakeholders.
China's Education Reform and Internalisation by Janette Ryan
Call Number: Online Resource. Click the title above to access this book.
ISBN: 0415582253
Publication Date: 2011
This book discusses reform in higher education in China within the past decade. It also discusses academic connections in higher education between China and the West.
The unknown cultural revolution : educational reforms and their impact on China's rural development by Dongping Han
Call Number: Call Number: HN740.Z9 C6377 2000 - Library North 4
ISBN: 0815339062
Publication Date: 2000
Provides author's perspective of growing up in rural Jimo County, Shandong Province. Challenges the traditional view of the Cultural Revolution (1966-76). This is a case study using over 200 interviews and statistics from the county.
The saga of Chinese higher education from the Tongzhi Restoration to Tiananmen Square: revolution and reform by Richard A. Hartnett
Call Number: LA1133 .H36 1998 Library North 4
ISBN: 0773482873
Publication Date: 1998

Find Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database containing thousands of full text articles including peer-reviewed articles.

Use the following databases to locate articles on your topic.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Quality resources in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journals. There are many education related resources in this database.

Sociological Collection
Comprehensive database for social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
PAIS
(Public Affairs Information Service): International literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.

Videos

2 Million Minutes

Call Number: Video DVD LB1607 .T85 2007 - Library South 2

This DVD examines the daily lives, pressures, and ambitions of six high school students in the US, China, and India, and their future prospects in the global economy.

Tank Man - Video DVD

The Tank Man

Call Number: Video DVD DS779.32 .T36 2006b - Library South 2

Overview of the student led protest in Tiananmen square in 1989. Discusses the mystery surrounding the Tank Man icon.

Web Resources

The Internet Guide for Chinese Studies (IGCS)

This research guide is maintained by Sinological Institute, Leiden University, Netherland. Click on section L. for a thorough look at eduction in China.

Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China

The option to view the website in English is located in the upper left. This is a Chinese government website that discusses news, policy, education, and international cooperatives and exchanges. There is a plethora of information here including some educational statistics.

Library of Congress Country Studies-China

Chapter 4 discusses Education and Culture

MCLC Resource Center

This website is maintained by Kirk A. Denton/Ohio State University. Click on the education tab for an extensive bibliography about education in China.

Contact Me

Denise George

Email Me

Contact:

Library South, 5th Floor-Suite 542

404-413-2842

Subjects: *Publishing and Open Access, Counseling and Psychological Services, Early Childhood and Elementary Education, Education, Educational Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Special Education, and Communication Disorders , Kinesiology & Health Education, Learning Technologies, Middle & Secondary Education

History of Education in China

The following are a few recommended books in the University Library about the history of education in China. For additional books, search the Library Catalog, GIL-Find.

Education in traditional China : a history by Hongqi Li
Call Number: LA1131 .L29 2000 - Library North 4
ISBN: 9004103635
1. Introduction: Ideals and Major Themes in Chinese Education 1 --2. Institutional History: Government Schools and Examinations --
3. Intellectual History of Chinese Education--4. Changing Curriculums and the Joy of Learning --5. Literacy, Family and Technical Education --6. Students and Student Movements--7. Conclusion: Between Ideal and Reality.
The alienated academy : culture and politics in republican China, 1919-1937 by Wen-Hsin Yeh
Call Number: LC179.C6 Y34 1990 - Library North 4
ISBN: 0674015851
Publication Date: 1990
Study that discusses the struggle to define the Chinese intellectual and the Chinese model for education. Includes the influence of the breakdown of political order and the influence of the forces of capitalism.
China's universities, 1895-1995 : a century of cultural conflict by Ruth Hayhoe
Call Number: LA1133 .H388 1996 - Library North 4
ISBN: 0815318596
Publication Date: 1996
Introduction: A Story, Not a History --
Ch. 1. Concepts and Frameworks for Telling the Story --Ch. 2. The Nationalist Story, 1911-1949 --Ch. 3. The Socialist Story, 1949-1978 --Ch. 4. The Story of the Reform Decade, 1978-1990 --Ch. 5. Perspectives from the Central South Region --Ch. 6. Perspectives from the Northwest Region --Ch. 7. Mass Higher Education and the Chinese University.
Education, culture, and identity in twentieth-century China by Glen Peterson, Ruth Hayhoe, Yongling Lu
Call Number: LA1131.81 .E38 2001 - Library North 4
ISBN: 0472111515
Publication Date: 2001
Discusses education, culture, and identity in China over the past century.