Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Writing Literature Review Papers
Choose A Tentative Topic
Do some preliminary reading before settling on a topic. If you know very little about the topic you have chosen, you may need to narrow or broaden your topic later. Browse subject encyclopedias, magazine articles, textbooks, etc. for ideas.
Gather Background Information
Gather background information to familiarize yourself with your topic. Reference materials such as subject encyclopedias are great resources to start. Encyclopedia articles are comprehensive overviews of important topics in the field. You may also consult particular books for more information.
Find Recent Research Progress From Journal Articles
- Choose appropriate databases
- Analyze your topic
- Plan and conduct searches
- Revise your search strategy and sometimes your research topic
- Keep track of your search log
- Save successful searches and export references to EndNote.
You May Also Need Information From Other Sources
Depending on your topic, you may also need other forms of scholarly information, such as research data or reports, which may not be found in literature databases. The web portals and search engines listed on the Web Sources tab are useful to find such information. Note: As most information free online is not peer-reviewed, you need to evaluate the authority and reliability of information found on the Internet before using it.
- Avoid plagiarism
- Give proper credit to the information you use
- Allow readers to find your sources
Use EndNote to manage your citations and cite while you write!
EndNote is a citation management program that lets you:
- Export citations from databases to EndNote and create your reference database
- Format your references into the style you selected
EndNote comes with more than 3,300 predefined bibliographic styles for the leading journals.
Visit the EndNote Guide to see how to use EndNote.
Where to Publish: Open Access
Image source: Steve Lawrence, “Online or Invisible?” Nature, 2001, 411 (6837): 521.
Publishing in open access journals can increase impact and exposure of your work, as can including your publication in an institutional and/or disciplinary repository after publication.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Check the Directory of Open Access Journals for more "free, full text,quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."
Open Access LibGuide
More information and resources on publishing in open access journals and using open access in your research.
Where to Publish: Evaluating Journal Impact
Take a look at the Journal Citation Reports and see which journals rank high in your field. At the same time, you also need to consider which journals can help you increase your research impact.
How to maximize the impact of your work after publishing?
You may deposit your publication into a disciplinary repository and/or our institutional repository (GSU Digital Archive). Before depositing, you need to check the publisher's copyright transfer agreement to see if you have the right to post your publication.
Digital Archive @ Georgia State University
Georgia State University faculty and students can store articles, as well as other scholarly materials, to ensure continued access to their work.
GSU Digital Archive FAQ
Detailed explanation of how and why to deposit works in the GSU Digital Archive.
This open access depository hosts moderated papers, particularly in Physics and Astronomy, that follow "accepted standards of scholarly communication" as set by traditional refereed journal articles.
Publisher copyright and self-archiving policies. Be sure to check your publisher's information before depositing a paper into any depository.