Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online version of the International Encyclopedia of Heat and Mass Transfer. While the full encyclopedia is only available to paid subscribers, many of the articles are available for free.
Videos, Lectures, and Instruction
Strasbourg Astronomical Data Center (CDS)
Data center dedicated to the collection and worldwide distribution of astronomical data and related information.
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.
Provides access to published astronomical catalogues and data tables available online, organized in a self-documented database.
Interactive software sky atlas allowing the user to visualize digitized astronomical images, superimpose entries from astronomical catalogues or databases, and interactively access related data and information from the Simbad database, the VizieR service and other archives for all known sources in the field.
Catalog of over 100 thousand stars observed by the European Space Agency's Hipparcos Satellite.
Sloan Digital Sky Survey
Sloan Digital Sky Survey's goal is to create a detailed map one quarter of the sky. Images from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey may be downloaded.
U.S. Naval Observatory Guide Star Catalog
Catalog of 48 million stars, covering lower 86% of the sky, taken by observatories in Chile and Arizona.
Multimission Archive at Space Telescope (MAST)
Provides access to a number of astronomical data archives focusing on "optical, ultraviolet, and near-infrared parts of the spectrum." Organized by mission, catalog, and survey name.
NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED)
Database of extragalactic objects including data, images and relevant bibliographic information. Each entry contains cross-identification of names, accurate positions and redshifts.
Major Laboratories & Observatories
NASA's NEOWISE: Asteroid and Comet Data