Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What kinds of resources do you need?
Current research and experiments: Look for scholarly articles in one of our databases.
- Looking for a topic in physics or astronomy? Start with Web of Science or NASA ADS (astronomy only).
- Looking for the most up-to-date research? Try arXiv, which includes preprints (papers that will later be published in journals), or NASA ADS, which searches arXiv.
- Looking for a topic that includes other disciplines? Use Web of Science for all sciences, Biological Abstracts for biology, GeoRef for geosciences, and ERIC for physics education.
An overview of a topic: Look for books or reference materials using our catalog.
- Looking for a brief overview of a topic you don’t already know? Search our catalog for the word “encyclopedia” plus a broad topic (ex. encyclopedia physics). Or browse our reference collection on Library North 2 (look under Q for science, R for medicine, and T for technology).
- Looking for in-depth explorations of a topic or field? Search our catalog for the topic. If you don’t find anything, search for a broader topic (e.g. star formation instead of T Tauri star).
- Looking for the most up-to-date overviews of recent research? Look for review articles in one of the above databases.