GSU Library Research Guides: Physics & Astronomy: Subject Guide: Physics Databases

Databases and Journals - Physics and Astronomy

Use these databases and collections of journals to find scholarly articles for most topics in Physics and Astronomy. The first three databases listed (Web of Science, ArXiv, and ADS) are recommended places to start.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Help | Searches articles in over 7,100 science journals, including what papers are cited in and citing each article. Use for citation chasing, preliminary searches on a topic, interdisciplinary work, and finding more articles like one you've read.
Astrophysics Data System (ADS) This link opens in a new window
Search Help | Searches three databases: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. Especially useful for astronomy; also good for exporting arXiv results to bibliographic managers.
ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
A free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,295,287 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

CDS - CERN Document Server (1980+)
Search Tips | Covers particle physics preprints, articles, books, proceedings, and more; many documents are full-text. Use for particle physics topics only.
more...less...
Contains around 400,000 documents, with 50% electronically accessible. Indexes particle physics preprints, articles, books, proceedings, presentations, talks, journals, reports, multimedia and outreach.
E-Print Network
Search Help | Searches multiple open access e-print websites and databases, primarily in physics but including other sciences. Includes journal pre-prints, conference papers, and more. Documents are not necessarily peer-reviewed or traditionally published; use with caution if looking for sources to cite.
more...less...
Searches over 35,000 databases and websites including arXiv, MIT – DSpace, Optimization Online, and CERN Preprints Document Server. Covers primarily physics but also includes chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and others.
INSPIRE-HEP (1960s+)
Search Tips | Collection of particle physics literature, primarily taken from arXiv (along with journals and some other sources). Can be used in lieu of other databases to keep results to particle physics only.
more...less...
Run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center(SLAC) since the late 1960's as a database of particle physics literature.

Databases - Related Disciplines

Use these databases, along with multidisciplinary databases such as Web of Science, to find papers on topics connected to other disciplines.

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
One of the premier databases of biological literature. Use it to find biological articles and how they are cited.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes materials science, aerospace, engineering, computers, physics, telecommunications, transportation, military, physics, astronomy, biology, earth science, and chemistry, as well as full text for journals in applied and general sciences.
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
Published by IOPscience, this platform provides access to journals devoted to the understanding of physics, highlighted by subjects, biomedical engineering, quantam information, mathematical physics, materials science and more.
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
Publishes reports issues by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, covering topics in science, engineering, and health.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Core geosciences database produced by the American Geological Institute. Coverage: North America 1669-present; worldwide 1933-present.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Use SciFinder Scholar to search Chemical Abstracts, which also indexes life sciences articles and patents, plus MEDLINE.