Getting the Full-Text Article
Databases often allow you to download articles directly. Even if they don't, the library may still have the item. Try clicking the "Find It @ GSU" button next to the citation. The window that opens will tell you if the library owns a print or electronic copy. If the item is not in the GSU Library, you can request it via our Interlibrary Loan service. Using the Interlibrary Loan link in the Find It @ GSU window will fill out all the information for you.
You can search Google Scholar for "Full Text @ GSU" off-campus.
Most publishers provide TOC e-mail alerts/RSS feeds service for free. Some publishers also provide article alerts or search alerts which are similar to search alerts from article databases.
To set up alerts from individual journals, go to the publisher's website, register an account, and follow the instruction there.
|
Most databases provide search alerts which are based on the searches you have created. Every time the database is updated or on a schedule that you have defined, you will receive an alert. Your search strategy can be based on a topic, author, or journal title.
When choosing the appropriate databases to set up alerts, it is critically important to consider the update frequency of the database.
Web of Knowledge databases including Web of Science provide citation alerts. Every time the article of your choosing is cited, you will receive an alert.
To set up a citation alert, click the title of the article to access the article record, then click Create Citation Alert.
Note: Alerting service is not available through Web of Knowledge All Databases Search.
For more information on auto-alerts types and how to set them up, consult this Auto-alerts instruction site.
Click the 
button. It provides you:
Go to GIL-Find and type the journal title in the search box without any articles (A, An, The) at the beginning. Select Journal Title from the drop-down menu and click Go. The result list will show both the electronic version and the print version if available. Check the dates of the journal in all formats to see if we have the volume of the journal. If we don't have it in either format, request the article through Interlibrary Loan.
Typing the abbreviated journal title into GIL-Find will often find the journal. If not, look to the Journal Abbreviated Title <> Full Title box for other options.
For articles or book chapters that are available in print format in the University Library but not available online, GSU faculty and graduate students only may submit an ILLiad request to have them delivered electronically to you. Within three business days, your request will be web-posted and you'll get an e-mail notification with instructions on how to view it. See the Desktop Article Delivery page for details on how to use the service.
A DOI is a unique and persistent identification number for the digital object with which it is associated. DOIs are commonly assigned to online scientific articles. Many journals now require DOIs to be included in references. More about DOI.
If you are on campus, the DOI Resolver will take you to the "Find it at GSU" page. This page not only shows you the citation of the article, but also shows you if we have the article electronically or in print. If we don't have it in either form, an ILL link will show up so you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Go to the CrossRef Simple Text Query page, paste your reference in the box provided and click on "Submit". It will provide the DOIs if available.
Note: Some articles don't have a DOI.
Most journal abbreviations are based on the ISSN's "List of Title Word Abbreviations". To look up specific titles and abbreviations, try Science & Engineering Journal Abbreviations from the Unviersity of British Colombia. For ADS journal codens, use ADS Journal Name/Code.
Still haven't found what you're looking for? Try the Journal Abbreviation Resources page.
