Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Online Resources: Rural America

Rural America: Digitized Manuscript Collections

MINERS:

M.H. Ross, 1916-1987 (L2001-05)
Myron Howard "Mike" Ross, was born November 9, 1919. Ross worked with a number of unions as an organizer, arbitrator, and advocate in the South. He ran for elective office in North Carolina on the Progressive Party ticket. After receiving public health training, he founded the Fairmont (West Virginia) Clinic, which had the mission of providing high quality medical care for miners and their families. Administering the clinic 1958-1978, Ross developed a longstanding interest in coal miners and worked on writing a history of them. The M. H. Ross papers consists of campaign materials from congressional races held in 1940 and 1948, labor union activities, social and political research, coal mining research, including a large collection of coal miner oral histories, manuscripts and those related research files, office files, photographs, audio/visual materials, and personal and family oral histories.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection


W.J. Usery, Jr. Papers, 1940; 1952-2004 (L1985-12)
The collection consists of papers of W. J. "Bill" Usery from 1940, 1942, 1952-2004. The International Association of Machinists series (1940, 1952-1969) documents Usery's involvement and participation with labor unions and the arbitration process. The United States Government series (1969-1977) pertains to Usery's government career, while the Bill Usery Associates series contains material relating to Usery's labor-management negotiation firm in Washington, DC. The Client and Mediation Files series (1942-1997) documents Usery's personal, and his Bill Usery Associates, Inc. labor-management consulting firm's, involvement in dispute resolution, strike settlement, and workplace productivity; it forms the bulk of the collection. The Name and Subject Files series (1963-1965, 1970-1995) include material related to Usery's appointments to Presidential Commissions, while the series Oral History Transcripts and Materials (1967-1986) relates to Eastern Airlines and the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection

 

 

Rural America: Oral Histories

Rural America: Digital Collections in Other Repositories

Digital Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections provides access to digitized American historical materials, and includes images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, film, sound files, and legal materials.

 

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory

Archivist to Contact

Contact Lisa Vallen, Southern Labor Archivist for questions related to this topic.

Email: evallen@gsu.edu

Phone: 404-413-2886

Zoom Office Hours Wed 10-11 (see syllabus for the link)