Nancy N. Boothe Papers, 1980-2009 (W079)
The Nancy N. Boothe papers, 1980-2009 [bulk 1990-1997], are composed of articles, notes, reports and a wide variety of feminist publications. Much of the material documents the U.N. Fourth World Conference on Women, which Ms. Boothe attended as Executive Director of Atlanta's Feminist Women's Health Center. Artifacts, artwork and textiles relate to the conference and to other women's and health issues.
Finding Aid
Digital Collection
NOTE: This collection has been fully digitized
Committee on Women, Population and the Environment Depo Diaries Records, 1999-2008 (W114)
Formed in 2001, the Committee on Women, Population, and the Environment is a multi-racial alliance of feminist community organizers, scholarly activists, and health practitioners committed to promoting the social and economic empowerment of women in a context of global peace and justice; and to eliminating poverty. The collection consists of correspondence, minutes, and printed materials pertaining to the organization and activities of the Depo Diaries, a national storytelling project documenting the contraceptive Depo-Provera.
Finding Aid
Digital Collection
NOTE: This collection has been fully digitized
Georgians for Choice Records, 1974-2008 (W078)
Formed in 1986, Georgians for Choice brought together a number of women's organizations in an effort to greater impact the protection and expansion of women's reproductive freedom in Georgia. The records consist of correspondence and printed material, as well as minutes and agendas, financial records, legal records, photographs, audio-visual records, and artifacts including textiles, that document the legislative, organizational, advocacy, and educational work of the organization.
Finding Aid
Digital Collection
NOTE: Materials digitized include textiles, Operation Rescue scrapbooks, and folders that have been scanned for a Reproductive Rights class exercise.
Planned Parenthood of Alabama and Mississippi Records (W144)
Scrapbooks containing news clippings and notes detailing the national and local political climate around abortion rights, sexual health and education, and the prevention and treatment of sexually transmitted infections, as well as Planned Parenthood clinics in Alabama and Mississippi.
Finding Aid unavailable as collection is not fully processed
Digital Collection
NOTE: Materials digitized include scrapbooks
Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, 1955-2011 (Bulk 1972-2008) (W084)
Founded in 1964, Planned Parenthood Southeast provides voluntary family planning services and education. The Atlanta-based organization's records, 1955-2011 (bulk 1972-2008), reflect its administration, projects, daily operations, and engagement with legislative issues, as well as that of its predecessors, Planned Parenthood of the Atlanta Area and Planned Parenthood of Georgia.
Finding Aid
Digital Collection
NOTE: Materials digitized include photographs and scrapbooks
ORAL HISTORY COLLECTIONS
Karuna Counseling Oral History Project
Established in 1974, the original mission of Karuna Counseling was to provide high quality, compassionate care for women. Over the years the practice has grown, developed and expanded its focus, and it now provides holistic psychotherapy services to men, women, adolescents, families, couples, businesses, and organizations in the Atlanta, Georgia area.
INDIVIDUALS
Martha Aenchbacher, November 27, 2016 (W071)
Martha Aenchbacher was born in Russell County, Kentucky. When she was a child, her family moved to south Georgia, where witnessing poverty and racial injustice inspired the development of her social conscience. Aenchbacher enrolled in Georgia Southwestern College at age 16. While in college, she met her husband, Louie, with whom she had seven children. Aenchbacher finished her college education in Savannah, Ga., where she majored in social work and became interested in feminism and the women's movement. She became active in a local chapter of the National Organization for Women. She and some of her social work colleagues worked to establish the first rape crisis center in Georgia in order to address the problem of inadequate care that was often provided to rape victims. She also worked with what would become the first hospice in Georgia. Aenchbacher later earned a master's degree in psychology and worked as a counselor. [AVAILABLE VIA DIGITAL COLLECTIONS]
Nancy Boothe (W071)
As Eecutive Director of the Atlanta Feminist Women's Health Center, Nancy N. Boothe presented internationally, promoting positive women's health policy. She has commented that the "degree of violence perpetuated against women worldwide is limited only by that which their government refuses to tolerate and when the community says "no more." [CONTACT ARCHIVISTS FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILES]
Kaffie McCullough, June 16, 2011 (W071)
Kaffie McCullough received her masters degree in Community Counseling in 1986 and launched a successful 10-year career as a licensed professional counselor. Her work focused on female clients and issues of self-esteem. While she was in her private therapy practice, McCullough saw a number of middle school clients, and as a result, she identified that age as the pivotal time when the decline in self-esteem begins. Drawing on experience gained volunteering in a week-long outdoor leadership camp for young girls at Wells, McCullough founded the not-for-profit organization, Girls Opportunities for Adventure and Leadership (GOAL). GOAL's mission was to promote self-esteem, self-awareness and a respect for individual differences in girls and young women, resulting in an enhanced capacity for leadership. GOAL started as a week-long summer camp, and went on to offer a number of programs for girls in grades 6 through 9. Along with her enrepreneurial successes, McCullough has served the Atlanta community as a speaker, resource, and advisor for other groups working on programs for girls and young women. She now works with the Juvenile Justice Fund, overseeing A Future Not A Past, a program aimed at combating the criminal exploitation of children. McCullough is a cancer survivor. [CONTACT ARCHIVISTS FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILES]
Kaffie McCullough, July 21, 2011 (W071) [CONTACT ARCHIVISTS FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILES]
Roger Rochat (W071)
While working for the CDC’s Epidemic Intelligence Service, Dr Roger Rochat joined was assigned to the Family Planning Evaluation Activity and the Georgia Health Department. One of his first tasks was to determine whether the new Georgia state law legalizing abortion would reduce maternal mortality. Because of restrictive access to services, it would not. A lawyer cited this social inequity in Doe v. Bolton, the Supreme Court case from Georgia that was decided concurrently with Roe v. Wade. In 1981, Dr. Rochat became the first Director of the Division of Reproductive Health for the CDC. In 1985, he developed the Global Health Track in Community Health at Emory, then worked 2 years for USAID in India, and then spent six years developing Maternal and Child Health epidemiology in the Georgia Health Department. [AVAILABLE VIA DIGITAL COLLECTIONS]
Judith Rooks (W008)
Rooks was head of a Georgia Citizens for Hospital abortions, an organization which fought to get Georgia's abortion laws changed. In addition to her activism, Rooks also worked for the CDC (Center for Disease Control) as an epidemiologist in the Family Planning Evaluation Division where she uncovered revealing statistics regarding the disparity between black and white women who were allowed to have “legal abortions” prior to the change in the state laws. This research was used in the Doe v Bolton case which challenged Georgia’s abortion laws. [CONTACT ARCHIVISTS FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILES]
Kay Scott (W071)
Kay Scott attended Mercy Hospital School of Nursing and worked in healthcare as early as age 15. Scott worked in a women’s health clinic in a Model Cities project in Texas and attended the UCLA School of Medicine before starting at Planned Parenthood in Austin, Texas in 1976. She moved to Atlanta in 1980 where she worked as CEO of Planned Parenthood Southeast until 2012. [CONTACT ARCHIVISTS FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILES]
Judith Taylor (W071)
The daughter-in-law of Planned Parenthood Atlanta's founder, Ether Taylor, Judith Taylor helped to found Vote Choice, a Georgia PAC. She was also a founding mother of the Atlanta Women’s Foundation. the first woman to serve as Vice President of the Planning and Allocation Division of the United Way of Metropolitan Atlanta, and the second woman Vice President of its Community and Government Relations Division. Taylor is a breast cancer survivor. [CONTACT ARCHIVISTS FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILES]
Elaine Taylor-Klaus (W071)
Elaine Taylor-Klaus served on the NYC Commission on the Status of Women, the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and the Governor’s Council for Maternal and Infant Health for the state of Georgia. One of Taylor-Klaus’ most notable acts for the Pro- Choice movement was her creation of one of the largest independent PACs in Georgia, Vote Choice. [CONTACT ARCHIVISTS FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILES]
Digital Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.
Five College Compass - Digital Collections
Compass is a centralized repository and platform for Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith Colleges to store, manage and publish digital objects on the Web.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections provides access to digitized American historical materials, and includes images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, film, sound files, and legal materials.
Living Atlanta Oral History Recordings at the Atlanta History Center
The interviews in this collection cover a broad array of topics relevant to the history of Atlanta between World War I and World War II. Prominent subjects include race relations, segregation, popular music, baseball, neighborhoods, the Jewish community, police, healthcare, and education. Major events that are covered include the Great Fire of 1917, the 1906 Race Riot, and the 1916 Streetcar Strike. The Atlantans interviewed represent a broad cross section of society, including streetcar workers, musicians, professors, politicians, police chiefs, school teachers, railroad executives, and sports figures.
Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture at Duke University
The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture acquires and preserves published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women throughout history.
Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America: Digital Collections
The Schlesinger Library, part of Harvard University's Radcliff Institute for Advanced Studies documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.
Special Collections and Archives
Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
