Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Online Resources: Mental Health

Mental Health: Digitized Manuscript Collections

Babcock, Eleanor. Yellow Topaz: A Historical Memoir
Written by Eleanor Babcock, this memoir was published by Georgia State University Library in 2011. 

Mental Health: Oral Histories

ORAL HISTORY COLLECTIONS

Karuna Counseling Oral History Project
Established in 1974, the original mission of Karuna Counseling was to provide high quality, compassionate care for women. Over the years the practice has grown, developed and expanded its focus, and it now provides holistic psychotherapy services to men, women, adolescents, families, couples, businesses, and organizations in the Atlanta, Georgia area.

Finding Aid
Research Guide
Digital Collection
YouTube Channel


INDIVIDUALS

Franklin Abbott, September 30, 2011 (Q101)
Franklin Abbott was both in 1950 in Birmingham, Alabama and raised in Buffalo, New York and Nashville, Tennessee. He attended Mercer College in Macon County in the 1960s, and later attended graduate school where he qualified as a therapist. For decades, Abbott has been associated with the Radical Fairies adn Gay Spirit Visions, both spiritual gay men’s groups. In addition to serving the community through spiritual practices and therapy, he is a writer and co-founder of the Atlanta Queer Literary Festival. Abbott's books include Boyhood: Growing Up Male, Men and Intimacy: Personal Accounts, and Pink Zinnia: Poems and Stories. Abbott continues both his literary work and therapy practice. [AVAILABLE VIA GSU LIBRARY'S YOUTUBE CHANNEL]

June Dobbs Butts, January 29, 2016 (W071)
Therapist and family counselor June Dobbs Butts was born on June 11, 1928 in Atlanta, Georgia. She is the youngest daughter of Irene and John Wesley Dobbs, one of Atlanta's most prominent African American leaders before the Civil Rights Movement. Butts is also the aunt of the late Honorable Maynard Jackson, Atlanta's first black mayor. Butts received her B.A. degree in sociology from Spelman College in 1948, setting a national education record -- six sisters graduating from the same college. That same summer, Butts worked with her close friend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Then, in the fall of 1948, she entered the Teacher's College of Columbia University in New York City, where she received her Ed.D. degree in family life education. Butts' professional career began in 1950 as a professor in the psychology department at Fisk University. She went on to work at Tennessee State University, Howard University College of Medicine and Meharry Medical College, where she was also a researcher. While serving on the Board of Directors of Planned Parenthood in the 1970s, Butts met famed sex researchers Masters and Johnson, who invited her to join their staff at the Reproductive Biology Research Foundation (later called Masters and Johnson Institute) in St. Louis, Missouri. There, Butts became the first African American to be trained as a sex therapist by Masters and Johnson. She later served as a visiting scientist at the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) in Atlanta. Butts resides in Atlanta. She is the mother of three children (one deceased), and one granddaughter (Biographical note adapted from The History Makers website). [AVAILABLE VIA DIGITAL COLLECTIONS]

Lynn Carrigan, November 7, 2014 (W071) [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPTS OR AUDIO FILES]

Gus Kaufman (Q101)
Gus B. Kaufman, Jr., Ph.D. is a clinical psychologist who has practiced at An Open Space for twenty years. He has co-founded five non-profit organizations, including Men Stopping Violence, and published many chapters and articles. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPTS OR AUDIO FILES]

Susan Levy, April 21, 2017
Psychotherapist and friend of Franklin Abbott, Levy worked with AIDS sufferers. [INTERVIEW IS AVAILABLE VIA GSU LIBRARY'S YOUTUBE CHANNEL]

Sarah Lopez, September 5, 2014 (Q101)
Sarah Lopez, Ph.D. is a bilingual psychologist in clinical practice in Atlanta since 1982. Her ongoing commitment extends beyond the office to include social/cultural issues that create and maintain suffering such as injustice, violence, and oppression. An early responder to the mental health needs of the AIDS epidemic, she has co-facilitated a weekly pro bono HIV/AIDS therapy group for 21 years. [AVAILABLE VIA DIGITAL COLLECTIONS]

Sharon Mathis, June 8, 2020 (W071) [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPTS OR AUDIO FILES]

Mental Health: Digital Collections in Other Repositories

Archives of the History of American Psychology at the University of Akron's Cummings Center for the History of Psychology
The Archives of the History of American Psychology is the world’s largest repository of manuscripts, monographs, media, and artifacts relevant to the history of psychology and related human sciences.

Digital Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections provides access to digitized American historical materials, and includes images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, film, sound files, and legal materials.

Living Atlanta Oral History Recordings at the Atlanta History Center
The interviews in this collection cover a broad array of topics relevant to the history of Atlanta between World War I and World War II.  Prominent subjects include race relations, segregation, popular music, baseball, neighborhoods, the Jewish community, police, healthcare, and education. Major events that are covered include the Great Fire of 1917, the 1906 Race Riot, and the 1916 Streetcar Strike.  The Atlantans interviewed represent a broad cross section of society, including streetcar workers, musicians, professors, politicians, police chiefs, school teachers, railroad executives, and sports figures.

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory