Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Online Resources: Immigration

Immigration: Oral Histories in Social Change Collections

Atlanta South Asian Oral History Project Collection, 2017 (Y018)
Interviews conducted by Franklin Abbott with members of Atlanta's South Asian community. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR AUDIO/VIDEO FILES]

Finding Aid


Immigrant Oral History Project Collection, 1995-1997 (Y014)
The Immigrant Oral History Collection consists of student-conducted oral histories produced as part of Chris Lutz's History classes between 1995-1997. The collection contains 11 oral histories. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPTS AND AUDIO FILES]

Finding Aid


In Whose Heart is a Highway: The Buford Highway Oral History Project
In Whose Hearts is a Highway: The Buford Highway Oral History Project is a multi-year initiative of the community-building organization We Love BuHi that aims to document first-person accounts from immigrants, refugees, and their descendants who have lived or worked along the Buford Highway Corridor from 1950 to the present. The mission of the project is to foster a strong and inclusive sense of Buford Highway’s community heritage and identities, a more comprehensive understanding of the past, and an inventory of current needs, challenges, and strengths to generate a shared vision for future change and development in the Buford Highway area. Interviews are permanently housed in Georgia State University Library's Special Collections and Archives Department.

Digital Collection

Immigration: Oral Histories in Women's Collections

Amy Ray, April 13, 2011 (W071)
Amy Ray was born in Decatur, Georgia in 1964. She graduated from Emory University in 1986. She had a passion for music and began performing with friend Emily Saliers as a teenager. The pair later formed the Indigo Girls. As a singer-songwriter, Ray also pursues a solo career, releasing albums under her own name, and has founded a record company, Daemon Records. She supports grassroots activist causes, in particular those relating to the environment, human rights and women’s issues. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]

Leola Reis, September 19, 2008 (W071)
Leola Reis began her work for Planned Parenthood of Georgia as a clinic counselor and a liaison for judicial bypass (1995-1997). She then became Planned Parenthood of Georgia's Coordinator for Marketing, Communications, and Policy (1997), Vice President for Marketing and Communications (2000), and eventually Vice President for External Affairs. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]

Leola Reis, November 25, 2008 (W071) [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]

David Ross, (W071)
Attorney David Ross served on the board of directors of Planned Parenthood of Atlanta from 1987-1990, was board chair from 1991-1992, and went on to serve the Planned Parenthood Federation of America from 1993-1994. Ross played a significant role in establishing a corps of local attorneys representing young women who were seeking judicial bypass after the passage of Georgia's parental notification law. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]

Immigration: Digital Collections in Other Repositories

Digital Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections provides access to digitized American historical materials, and includes images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, film, sound files, and legal materials.

Living Atlanta Oral History Recordings at the Atlanta History Center
The interviews in this collection cover a broad array of topics relevant to the history of Atlanta between World War I and World War II.  Prominent subjects include race relations, segregation, popular music, baseball, neighborhoods, the Jewish community, police, healthcare, and education. Major events that are covered include the Great Fire of 1917, the 1906 Race Riot, and the 1916 Streetcar Strike.  The Atlantans interviewed represent a broad cross section of society, including streetcar workers, musicians, professors, politicians, police chiefs, school teachers, railroad executives, and sports figures.

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory