Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Online Resources: Nursing

Nursing: Digitized Manuscript Collections

Grady School of Nursing
Founded in March 1898, the Grady Hospital Training School for Nurses prepared young women from around the region for a career in nursing. Similarly, the Municipal Training School for Colored Nurses opened for African American nurses in 1917. When the schools merged in 1964, the program name was changed to the Grady School of Nursing. The school officially graduated its last class and closed in 1982.

The Grady School of Nursing Collection contains yearbooks and will continue to grow with the addition of oral history interviews and documentation of the School and its students.

Digital Collection


Lane Brothers Photographers Collection, circa 1939-1975 (L1985-33)
This photo negative collection includes approximately 70 images of Aidmore Hospital; 35 of the American Red Cross 1944-1960; 35 of Piedmont Hospital; 20 of the Georgia Baptist Hospital; as well as numerous other images of such institutions as Grady Memorial Hospital, Emory Hospital, Highview Nursing Home, St. Joseph Infirmary, and the Warm Springs Foundation. A subject heading list and topical database is available.

Digital Collection


South Carolina Nurses Association Records, 1897; 1907-1992 (L1977-37)
The South Carolina Nurses Association (SCNA), founded in 1907, is a professional organization devoted to promoting high standards for nurses, to encouraging their advancement and welfare, and to improving health care generally. SCNA has been a constituent association of the American Nurses Association (ANA) since 1911. Registered nurses join local districts of SCNA, making them full members of SCNA and ANA, represented in the House of Delegates of each. Membership in an SCNA district provides a nurse with a voice on policy, legislative, and economic issues related to nursing and health care in South Carolina, the United States, and internationally, through ANA's participation in the International Council of Nurses. (Originally called the South Carolina Nurses State Association, the organization obtained its state charter in 1932 as the South Carolina Graduate Nurses Association. In 1944, it took a new name, the South Carolina State Nurses Association, and has been known as the South Carolina Nurses Association since 1965.)

Finding Aid
Digital Collection

 

Nursing: Oral Histories

The following interviews are part of the Grady School of Nursing Collection:

Geneva Cox Boykin, May 28, 2014
Geneva Cox Boykin was born in Bay Minette, Ala. Her father worked in farming and later in a turpentine plant. Her mother was a homemaker. Boykin attended Baldwin County Training School in Daphne, Ala. and enrolled in Grady Hospital School of Nursing in Atlanta in 1948. After graduating from Grady, Boykin moved to Chicago to pursue a master's degree at DePaul University and to work as a nurse at Northwestern University Hospital. She later married and returned to Atlanta, taking a job teaching at Grady School of Nursing. After the school closed in 1982, Boykin worked as a nurse in various organizations in the Atlanta area.

Judy Clary, January 25, 2015
Judy Clary was born in 1950 in Wilmington, Delaware. Her father was in the Marine Corps and her family moved a great deal throughout her childhood. After high school, Clary attended the Grady School of Nursing at Grady Hospital in Atlanta. Throughout her career, she worked in multiple hospitals, and then transitioned to industrial nursing, also know as occupational health.

Bernice Dixon, March 11, 2015
Bernice Killcrease Dixon was born in Gwinnett County, Georgia on March 6, 1922. She grew up on a farm. Dixon attended Grady Hospital School of Nursing beginning in 1942. She worked in Grady Hospital as a student nurse and later became a teacher and administrator at the nursing school.

Bernice Dixon, May 7, 2015
Bernice Killcrease Dixon was born in Gwinnett County, Georgia on March 6, 1922. She grew up on a farm. Dixon attended Grady Hospital School of Nursing beginning in 1942. She worked in Grady Hospital as a student nurse and later became a teacher and administrator at the nursing school.

Bernice Dixon, June 4, 2015
Bernice Killcrease Dixon was born in Gwinnett County, Georgia on March 6, 1922. She grew up on a farm. Dixon attended Grady Hospital School of Nursing beginning in 1942. She worked in Grady Hospital as a student nurse and later became a teacher and administrator at the nursing school.

Linda Wilson, October 3, 2014
Linda Wilson was born and grew up in Ware County, Georgia in February 1949. She was the third of eleven children born into a sharecropping family. Wilson graduated from Grady Hospital School if Nursing and held various nursing positions until she retired.

 

Nursing: Digital Collections in Other Repositories

Barbara Bates Center for the History of Nursing at the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
The Bates Center is committed to efforts to digitize collections and make materials available online through various means.

Digital Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.

Five College Compass - Digital Collections
Compass is a centralized repository and platform for Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith Colleges to store, manage and publish digital objects on the Web.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections provides access to digitized American historical materials, and includes images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, film, sound files, and legal materials.

The Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) College of Nursing Digital Collections
The College of Nursing Digital Collections currently include class photos from 1897-2002, the papers of Marguerite Andell, and current dissertations written by CON students.

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture at Duke University
The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture acquires and preserves published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women throughout history.

Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America: Digital Collections
The Schlesinger Library, part of Harvard University's Radcliff Institute for Advanced Studies documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.

 

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory

Archivist to Contact

Contact Lisa Vallen, Southern Labor Archivist for questions related to this topic.

Email: evallen@gsu.edu

Phone: 404-413-2886

Zoom Office Hours Wed 10-11 (see syllabus for the link)