Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Online Resources: Abortion

Abortion: Digitized Manuscript Collections

Archdiocese of Atlanta Pro-Life Newsletter Collection, 1977-1993 (W046)
In September 2001, the Special Collections Department of Georgia State University's Library accepted the Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta's offer of this collection of newsletters reflecting the anti-abortion and pro-life beliefs of some Americans, including Georgians and other Southerners. The collection includes newsletters (1977-1993) produced by state organizations (Florida, Georgia, Minnesota, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania ) as well as national organizations (including Americans United for Life, National Right to Life Committee, Stop Planned Parenthood, and Feminists for Life of America) and individuals.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection

NOTE: The majority of periodicals in the collection have been digitized.
 

Nancy N. Boothe Papers, 1980-2009 (W079)
The Nancy N. Boothe papers, 1980-2009 [bulk 1990-1997], are composed of articles, notes, reports and a wide variety of feminist publications. Much of the material documents the U.N. Fourth World Conference on Women, which Ms. Boothe attended as Executive Director of Atlanta's Feminist Women's Health Center. Artifacts, artwork and textiles relate to the conference and to other women's and health issues.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection
NOTE: This collection has been fully digitized
 

Georgians for Choice Records, 1974-2008 (W078)
Formed in 1986, Georgians for Choice brought together a number of women's organizations in an effort to greater impact the protection and expansion of women's reproductive freedom in Georgia. The records consist of correspondence and printed material, as well as minutes and agendas, financial records, legal records, photographs, audio-visual records, and artifacts including textiles, that document the legislative, organizational, advocacy, and educational work of the organization.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection

NOTE: Materials digitized include textiles, Operation Rescue scrapbooks, and folders that have been scanned for a Reproductive Rights class exercise.


Planned Parenthood of Alabama and Mississippi Records (W144) 
Scrapbooks containing news clippings and notes detailing the national and local political climate around abortion rights, sexual health and education, and the prevention and treatment of sexually transmitted infections, as well as Planned Parenthood clinics in Alabama and Mississippi.

Finding Aid unavailable as collection is not fully processed
Digital Collection
NOTE: 
Materials digitized include scrapbooks


Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, 1955-2011 (Bulk 1972-2008) (
W084)
Founded in 1964, Planned Parenthood Southeast provides voluntary family planning services and education. The Atlanta-based organization's records, 1955-2011 (bulk 1972-2008), reflect its administration, projects, daily operations, and engagement with legislative issues, as well as that of its predecessors, Planned Parenthood of the Atlanta Area and Planned Parenthood of Georgia.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection

NOTE: Materials digitized include photographs and scrapbooks

Abortion: Oral Histories

Elaine Alexander (W071)
Elaine Alexander has actively supported organizations that help women. She was a member of the Executive Committee of the Georgia Commission on the Status of Women from 1976-1979, and served on the board of the Atlanta Women’s Foundation from 1997-2004. She was also the founding president of Vote Choice / A Georgia PAC, and has long been an avid and vocal supporter of Planned Parenthood. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILE]

Nancy Boothe (W071)
As Eecutive Director of the Atlanta Feminist Women's Health Center, Nancy N. Boothe presented internationally, promoting positive women's health policy. She has commented that the "degree of violence perpetuated against women worldwide is limited only by that which their government refuses to tolerate and when the community says "no more." [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILE]

Stephanie Davis (W071)
Davis has been involved with a variety of issues throughout her life, but she was particularly active in women’s reproductive justice, violence against women, and the campaign against child sex trafficking. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILE]

Leola Reis (W071)
Leola Reis began her work for Planned Parenthood of Georgia as a clinic counselor and a liaison for judicial bypass (1995-1997). She then became Planned Parenthood of Georgia's Coordinator for Marketing, Communications, and Policy (1997), Vice President for Marketing and Communications (2000), and eventually Vice President for External Affairs. [CONTACT ARCHIVISTS FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILES]

Roger Rochat (W071)
While working for the CDC’s Epidemic Intelligence Service, Dr Roger Rochat joined was assigned to the Family Planning Evaluation Activity and the Georgia Health Department. One of his first tasks was to determine whether the new Georgia state law legalizing abortion would reduce maternal mortality. Because of restrictive access to services, it would not. A lawyer cited this social inequity in Doe v. Bolton, the Supreme Court case from Georgia that was decided concurrently with Roe v. Wade. In 1981, Dr. Rochat became the first Director of the Division of Reproductive Health for the CDC. In 1985, he developed the Global Health Track in Community Health at Emory, then worked 2 years for USAID in India, and then spent six years developing Maternal and Child Health epidemiology in the Georgia Health Department. [AVAILABLE VIA DIGITAL COLLECTIONS]

Judith Rooks (W008)
Rooks was head of a Georgia Citizens for Hospital abortions, an organization which fought to get Georgia's abortion laws changed. In addition to her activism, Rooks also worked for the CDC (Center for Disease Control) as an epidemiologist in the Family Planning Evaluation Division where she uncovered revealing statistics regarding the disparity between black and white women who were allowed to have “legal abortions” prior to the change in the state laws. This research was used in the Doe v Bolton case which challenged Georgia’s abortion laws. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILE]

David Ross (W071)
Attorney David Ross served on the board of directors of Planned Parenthood of Atlanta from 1987-1990, was board chair from 1991-1992, and went on to serve the Planned Parenthood Federation of America from 1993-1994. Ross played a significant role in establishing a corps of local attorneys representing young women who were seeking judicial bypass after the passage of Georgia's parental notification law. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO FILE]

Kay Scott (W071)
Kay Scott attended Mercy Hospital School of Nursing and worked in healthcare as early as age 15. Scott worked in a women’s health clinic in a Model Cities project in Texas and attended the UCLA School of Medicine before starting at Planned Parenthood in Austin, Texas in 1976. She moved to Atlanta in 1980 where she worked as CEO of  Planned Parenthood Southeast until 2012. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPTS OR AUDIO FILES]

Judith Taylor (W071)
The daughter-in-law of Planned Parenthood Atlanta's founder, Ether Taylor, Judith Taylor helped to found Vote Choice, a Georgia PAC. She was also a founding mother of the Atlanta Women’s Foundation. the first woman to serve as Vice President of the Planning and Allocation Division of the United Way of Metropolitan Atlanta, and the second woman Vice President of its Community and Government Relations Division. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPTS OR AUDIO FILES]

Elaine Taylor-Klaus (W071)
Elaine Taylor-Klaus served on the NYC Commission on the Status of Women, the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and the Governor’s Council for Maternal and Infant Health for the state of Georgia. One of Taylor-Klaus’ most notable acts for the Pro- Choice movement was her creation of one of the largest independent PACs in Georgia, Vote Choice. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPTS OR AUDIO FILES]

Sarah Weddington (W008)
In 1973, shortly after completing law school, Weddington worked pro bono to represent a group of women who had established an abortion referral program at the University of Texas. Through this association, she successfully argued the landmark case Roe v Wade, and in doing so, became the youngest person to win a case before the Supreme Court. Also in 1973, Weddington began her political career by becoming the first woman elected to the Texas House of Representatives. She continued to serve in this position for three terms. From 1978 until 1981, Weddington served as Assistant to President Jimmy Carter and directed the Administration's work on women's issues and leadership outreach. In 1977, she became the first woman to hold the position of General Counsel of the US Department of Agriculture, and was the first female Director of the Texas Office of State-Federal Relations from 1983 until 1985. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPTS OR AUDIO FILES]

Abortion: Digital Collections in Other Repositories

Digital Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.

Five College Compass - Digital Collections
Compass is a centralized repository and platform for Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith Colleges to store, manage and publish digital objects on the Web.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections provides access to digitized American historical materials, and includes images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, film, sound files, and legal materials.

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture at Duke University
The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture acquires and preserves published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women throughout history.

Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America: Digital Collections
The Schlesinger Library, part of Harvard University's Radcliff Institute for Advanced Studies documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory