When you search in newspaper databases, it's important to keep in mind that there isn't a way to search by subject (or "about" a topic). Instead, you have to think about what words/language would be used in a newspaper article title and/or article text for that time period.
This means that you may well come across language that is uncomfortable or even offensive. History can be very ugly.
It is important that we understand that these words are part of history.
It is also important that we understand the potential of these words to be upsetting or offensive today.
Please be mindful of how you use this language, and be respectful when using it.
Digital reproduction of the printed Christian Science Monitor newspaper, covering issues published from 1908 to 2009. Extensive indexing for each issue.
Provides access to Chronicle.com daily news, data, and analysis of current issues faced by universities dating back to 1989. Also provideds access to the Almanac of Higher Education, The Trends Report, and other newsletters with the creation of a free account.
This indexing provides access to top news stories, and covers bibliographic information, companies, people, and products ranging from 1987 - current.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAS THE ONLY major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area, The AC provides a glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States. Content ranging from Reconstruction through the late 20th century.
Founded in 1928 by W. A. Scott, the Atlanta Daily World became the first successful African American daily newspaper in the United States.
Nearly 120 years of coverage from Georgia's most influential newspaper. A comprehensive digital archive of local, state and national history.
The digitized Chicago Defender served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S., and was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. Coverage: 1910 to 1975.
This long-running daily afternoon paper served as the newspaper of record for the nation's capital, covering national politics and the daily activities of every branch of government.
The Auburn Avenue Research Library (across Auburn Avenue from GSU's Centennial Hall) provides online access to these historical Black newspapers:
AS THE ONLY major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area, The AC provides a glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States. Content ranging from Reconstruction through the late 20th century.
Founded in 1928 by W. A. Scott, the Atlanta Daily World became the first successful African American daily newspaper in the United States.
