Skip to main content

CASA/Humanities Inclusivity Program (Summer 2020): Getting Started with the Library, Getting Help

Start At The Library's Homepage!

Start with the Library's homepage for

Summer 2020

The GSU Library buildings are closed until further notice due to the coronavirus pandemic.

We cannot currently provide access to our print books or other physical collections (i.e., DVDs, microfilm, Special Collections & Archives).

We also cannot provide physical materials (i.e. books) via GIL Express or Interlibrary Loan.

But all of our electronic resources remain open!

  • For a list of our online databases, see the Databases by Name list on the library's homepage.
  • You can also sort our databases by subject area using the Databases by Subject dropdown on the library's home page.
  • You can search for electronic books in the library's catalog. The Books tab on this guide has information on how to search for ebooks, and on other electronic-book collections being made available.
  • You can place Interlibrary Loan requests for articles and for book chapters/sections ONLY (which can be requested and delivered electronically). Expect a lag on these requests, and be aware that we may not be able to fulfill book chapter/section requests due to other libraries not being able to provide access to print books.
  • You can view films through our three streaming services: Kanopy, Films on Demand, and SWANK.

And you can still get help!

  • You're here! Check out the resources on this research guide.
  • The blue "Ask Us" button on the right-hand side of this page will take you to our chat reference service, staffed by reference librarians from 9am - 9pm Monday-Thursday and 9am - 5pm Fridays.
  • We have an extensive list of library FAQs which is available for research assistance 24/7. FAQs related to using the library during social distancing are collected here.
  • The library has a subject librarian for every discipline taught at GSU. Click here to find out who your subject librarian is (you'll need to click on your school or college and then on your department).

Getting Help: GSU Library Research Guides

Try looking at a GSU Library Research Guide!

We have research guides available for every department on campus. You can look at any guide regardless of what department you are associated with.

Start here to find helpful guides! 

(To get to the guide you are looking at right now, use this URL: http://research.library.gsu.edu/CASAHIP)

We also have other categories of research guides available for help (all linked from the main Research Guides page)

  • *Citing and Bibliographies
  • *Library Technology, Tutorials, and Software
  • *Publishing and Open Access
  • Data Services
  • General and Interdisciplinary Research

Curious About Zotero? Here's a How-To Zotero Session

This is a session on getting started with Zotero that Jill Anderson (Humanities Instruction Librarian) taught for Prof. Tim Barouch's graduate Communication course on the Politics of Injury: Trauma Communication (and Law).

See the library's Zotero guide on this guide (also linked from the Zotero tab above) for lots more information about getting started with and using Zotero.

Jason Puckett (the creator of our main Zotero guide) has also included recordings of his general Zotero workshops on that guide as well.

Getting Help: Subject Librarians

Every department at GSU generally has a subject librarian assigned to it. 

To find your subject librarian, click here and select the relevant department (click on a College or School's link to find specific departments).

If you aren't sure who to contact, Jill (Humanities Instruction Librarian) can help you get started and find the best person to talk with. 

photograph of Joel Glogowski, Nursing/Data Services Librarian, and John Bodnar

Joel Glogowski, Nursing/Data Services Librarian