Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some of our most popular databases for freshman and sophomore research projects. For more suggestions and tips, find a Research Guide on your topic.
Databases for Finding Hot Topics
Provides in-depth coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy dating back to 1991.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
A well-known and highly-valued statistical reference providing a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The collection includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, and books, for STM research, the Social Sciences, Humanities, and other areas of academic studies. PDF content dates back as far as 1887.
Favorite Literature Databases
For Students (Complete Collection)
The For Students series includes: Drama for Students, Epics for Students, Literary Movements for Students, Literary Newsmakers for Students, and Literary Themes for Students.
Features content from Facts On File's extensive print literature collection, hundreds of Harold Bloom's essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, and thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom's Literary Criticism imprint. Also contains an archive of more than 46,000 characters; extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; almost 170 video segments; and more.
Brings together collections of essays, commentary, criticism, primary sources and biographical information related to literature, history and culture from a variety of sources including content from Literature Criticism Online and selected authoritative reference works from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
SWANK Digital Campus
Offers online streaming of a wide range of feature films, documentaries, and foreign films.
Browsers Supported: Firefox, Safari, Internet Explorer, Chrome
System Requirements: Widevine Browser Plugin (free download versions for PC and Mac) or SWANK Media Player app (iOS and Android).
Films on Demand
Films on Demand (Master Academic Collection) consists of 7,000 video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, Science and United Newsreels. Note:
Not all mobile devices are supported. See list of supported devices
Academic Video Online
A large collection of streaming videos on multiple topics. Use link to sign in via our institution. Highlights include shows from PBS and BBC, Sony Pictures Classics, the Royal Shakespeare Company and Broadway HD.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Note: Some Kanopy titles are currently unavailable for viewing but might be available for purchase consideration. Click through to the video to fill out a request.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to a large collection of documentaries and independent films in a wide variety of subjects. To access, select "Log in to GSU"
American History in Video
A collection of video available for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.