Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dual Enrollment (Move On When Ready): Find Articles (Research Databases)

Tips for Navigating the Dual Enrollment process

Dual Enrollment Search Tips

  • Limit your search to articles in full text and scholarly or peer reviewed.

  • Sort results by relevance to get the best articles at the top of the list. Sort by date to get the most recent.

  • Read the abstract of an article to get an idea of what the article is about.

  • Use the subject descriptors to find more articles or to revise your search.

Emma Reh

Photo of writer Emma Reh (1896-1982) from Smithsonian Institution Archives


Find Articles with Research Databases

(6:44)

 

  • Research Databases are best for finding electronic resources, including:
    • Articles from magazines, scholarly journals, trade publications and newspapers.
    • Electronic books
    • Streaming videos
  • Research Databases can be searched in several ways:
    • Use the Discover search on the Library Homepage (or search box on the GALILEO homepage) to search many (not all) databases.
    • Browse by Subject allows you to select specific databases that best fit your topic.
    • Databases by Name A-Z lets you go to a specific database by name.
    • Journals A-Z allows you to find out which database has articles from a specific journal or if the library owns physical copies of the journal.

Research Databases video playlist

GALILEO password

Find the GALILEO password on the iCollege homepage under "Library Resources."

No GALILEO password is needed when accessing GSU's databases from the library homepage or in iCollege.  

You will need the GALILEO password if you log into GALILEO directly and sometimes when trying to open a permalink.

Switching GALILEO versions

Did you know there are different versions of GALILEO? 

Your high school and the public library each have a different version of GALILEO than Georgia State. So how to you switch between them?

The secret is they each have their own GALILEO password.

When you log into GALILEO, you will see which version you are in in the upper right corner. To change, click "log in as another user" and enter the GALILEO password for that library. (See image.)

GALILEO "log in as another user" in upper right corner.