Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-books are just like physical books, but you can access them immediately! You have access to a full library of electronic books from any computer with Internet access; an e-book reader is not necessary! But if you have an e-reader, you can download e-books to mobile devices.
There are three ways to find electronic books at GSU:
- The library catalog helps you locate many e-books on your topic in one search. After completing your search by topic, title, author, etc., select Full Access Online under "Availability" and books under "Format" to narrow to ebooks.
- The Discover Tool : After completing your search, select ebooks under "Format."
- Searching individual e-book databases give you the most complete results and allows you to search within the book.
E-book collections most recommended for current topics research projects include:
eBooks on EBSCOhost
A multidisciplinary e-book collection includes titles from business to science and engineering to the humanities.The e-books can be downloaded to mobile devices and allow for unlimited simultaneous users.
An online collection of of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Use the search box at the top of the screen to search all of the resources or use the subject links on the left-hand side to search specific works in the collection.
Ebook Central is a multi-disciplinary platform for e-books offering titles in a wide range of subjects featuring content from hundreds of publishers. As of July 5, 2017, ebrary e-books will be included in Ebook Central.
included scholarly articles and e-books. Narrow your search to "Books" to see only e-book results.
How to use Ebooks
Do I need to download the e-book?
- You don't have to: PDF and EPub: Many of our ebooks are available to read on your computer or device in PDF or EPub format without downloading. When you use ebooks this way, when you close them, they are not saved on your device.
- But you can: Downloading ebooks places a file on your device that you can access for a limited period of time. The file will expire after your loan period (or "check out" period) is over. When you use ebooks this way, you can make notes and bookmarks. If there are a limited number of concurrent users, the entire period of your loan period will count as one user until you "return" the book or the loan expires.
For downloading instructions, see our E-book guide:
Can I Print/Save/Email or Copy/Paste pages from the Ebook?
Look for information on each book that tells you:
- The number of pages you my save, print, or email. This varies by book, ranging from 0-100 pages. (This is set by the publishers.)
- If portions of the book may be copy-and-pasted.
- The number of simultaneous users -- that is, the number of people at GSU who can use the book at the same time. (This ranges from 1 to unlimited.)
How do I navigate an ebook?
The appearance and functions of the ebook reader interface vary from database to database, but most include similar functions. As shown in the image, these functions include:
- Navigating by chapter
- Navigating by page
- Searching within the text
- Options to adjust the view (only E-pub lets you resize the text within the page)
- Tools to save, print, cite, and email portions of the book to yourself
More about Ebooks
For more about ebooks, see our E-book Guide: