Skip to main content

ENGL 1101 Online: Research Databases - Best Bets

Research help for English 1101 Online

On this page....

Use this page to go to databases frequently recommended for ENGL 1101 projects and learn how to use them. 

  • Discover search (GALILEO)
  • Issues & Controversies (for topic ideas and background information)
  • News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
  • CQ Researcher

If you need more options, go to "Browse by Subjects"  to identify databases for your topic.

GSU Discover search

 Use the Discover search to search many (not all) databases and the library catalog at one time.

GSU Discover Search (Basic)
Tips
  • Requires GSU Username and password when off-campus. (Same log in as iCollege.)
  • Includes Academic Search Complete and other EBSCOHost databases but does not include Opposing Viewpoints or News & Newspapers.
  • Be sure you use limiters to narrow by format, date of publication, etc.
  • For more about how to use the Discover Search, see the Research Databases How-To page.

Issues & Controversies

Issues and Controversies is a good database for identifying topic ideas, getting background information and finding newspaper articles. It is not a good source for scholarly journals or ebooks.

News & Newspapers from ProQuest News

Tips

Use the database at the top to search all Newspaper databases or search each individually. Search for words you'd expect in the article. Assumes you want all search terms.


This video has lots of good search tips. It starts at 0:26 to leave out the part specific to University of Alabama

Note: This database is listed as "News and Newspapers" in GSU's Databases A-Z list.

CQ Researcher and Proquest

These are other databases frequently recommended for ENGL 1101 research projects.

GALILEO password

Find the GALILEO password on the iCollege homepage under "Library Resources."

No GALILEO password is needed when accessing GSU's databases from the library homepage or in iCollege.  

You will need the GALILEO password if you log into GALILEO directly and sometimes when trying to open a permalink.