Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page....
Databases recommended for your literary research assignment, and tips for how to use them.
The databases listed below are your best bests for literary criticism and author biographies. They are in the order of my recommendation of use.
For Students (Complete Collection)
Not every literary work has a "For Students" article, but if yours is, this is a great place to start. Each work will have an author biography, an overview, characters, themes, historical context, and some critical analysis articles. You can also access For Students through Gale Literary Sources.
Gale Literary Sources brings together collections of essays, commentary, criticism, primary sources and biographical information related to literature, history and culture from a variety of sources including content from Literature Criticism Online and selected authoritative reference works from Gale Virtual Reference Library. To access articles from the For Students series, search for the name of your work, then scroll down to see the search limiters for "Publication Title." Choose the appropriate "For Students" work from that list.
A subset of Gale Literary Sources. (A bit easier to search.)
All scholarly articles. Examine the lives and works of great writers, an archive of more than 46,000 characters, literary topics, themes, movements, and genres.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Included in Artemis, but sometimes easier to search on its own. tutorial
Literary Reference Center Plus
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. (Requires Boolean Operators to combine search terms.)
All scholarly journals at least one year old as well as academic e-books. Great for literature or non-current topics. TIP: Go to Advanced Search and click the "Language and Literature" box under "Narrow by Discipline." tutorial
Literature Online (LION)
Provides support for the study of English literature by bringing together primary works, reference materials, and literary criticism. Content includes books and scholarly journals covering 600 AD to the present.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-subject database, so enter your author's name and/or the title of the work as a search term, then click on "full text" and "scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals" to get your best results. Academic Search is included in the DISCOVER search. So why would you want to search it separately? You can use advanced searching techniques to get better results. tutorial
These video tutorials and step-by-step tutorials will help you use Literature Databases more effectively.
Academic Search Complete video tutorial (3:00)
How to use the database Academic Search Complete from Seminole State Library.
For Students Series in GVRL (3:38)
A great place to start your research, articles in Gale's For Students series give you author information, a summary and explanation of the literary work, suggested themes, historical context and criticism. (Updated for GSU Library)
Scholarly journal articles from many disciplines. Articles from the most recent 1 to 3 years are unavailable, but historical articles go back to the beginning of each journal's publication.
Quick Quiz - Literature Databases
Literature Research Playlist
Literature Research Online at GSU Library playlist
Includes these videos:
Research Databases introduction
Primary and Secondary Sources in Literature
Discover Search for Literature
For Students series articles in GVRL
Literary Reference Center
How to create a Research Plan