Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page....
Research databases recommended for your non-literary topic research assignment, and tips for how to use them.
For your non-literary assignment, you will need information about a topic relevant to your piece of literature -- not necessarily from literature-related databases.
You might start your search with the DISCOVER Search and make note of some of the subject terms that relate to your topic.
For more options, try the multi-subject databases linked below or go to Databases by Subject.
A large collection of databases not included in Discover. Includes general and subject specific databases as well as Proquest Newstand, which includes the Atlanta Journal Constitution, the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and more.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-subject database, so enter your author's name and/or the title of the work as a search term, then click on "full text" and "scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals" to get your best results. Academic Search is included in the DISCOVER search. So why would you want to search it separately? You can use advanced searching techniques to get better results.
Access full text information on current social and political issues. Each report covers a single topic drawn from a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Reports provide overview and background information as well as a pro/con section on a particular aspect of the topic and a bibliography. Beware the date in your results! tutorial
All scholarly journals at least one year old. Great for literature or non-current topics. tutorial
News & Newspapers
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.
Databases by Subject
Some databases specialize in information specific to a subject area, such as business, medicine, psychology, or literatures. Why use these?
- Specialized search tools and limiters
- Information specific to the subject area
To identify databases for your subject, first visit the Library Homepage. Then use the Browse by Subjects link on the library homepage or in GALILEO to locate databases that fit your topic, like this:
Quick Quiz - Non-literature Databases
Research Databases playlist
Online Library Research at GSU Library (video playlist)
An overview of research databases, how to develop search terms, understand the difference between scholarly and popular sources, plus videos about three specific databases frequently used in freshman research projects: Opposing Viewpoints, CQ Researcher, and JSTOR.