Report on Racial Disparities in “Jaywalking” Citations in Atlanta
Atlanta’s High Injury Network Report
Infrastructure Project Tracker “follows and maps ongoing transportation improvements across Atlanta, such as bike lanes, sidewalks, transit, and trails to provide information about Atlanta's infrastructure projects. Our project trackers will provide opportunities for Atlantans to take action in helping improve or advance projects. We've also linked below to the Atlanta BeltLine's project tracker.”
Finding Crash Data Guide details how to use and access Georgia crash data and defines terms and variable names that are frequently used in crash data.
MARTA’s Key Performance Indicators Data: this website includes links to statistics on MARTA’s key performance indicators such as on time performance, operating cost of bus and rail services per passenger trip, and safety and security measurements. This could be a great resource for ideas on how MARTA can improve.
MARTA’s Interactive System Map: contains all of MARTA’s bus and rail routes and stops.
ATL System Maps are compiled by ATL: Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority’s Collection of the entire metro’s transit systems including CobbLinc, Gwinnett County Transit (GTC), MARTA, and Xpress.
Atlanta Transit Equity Dashboard is similar Transit Equity Dashboards for Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco-Oakland, and Washington D.C., this report focuses on job access equity provided by the Metro Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) system provides. This tool was put together by Margaret Mullins who now works for Propel ATL.
Metro Atlanta Racial Equity Atlas allows you visualize demographic, economic, education and health factors and how they intersect with race and ethnicity. ArcGIS is used to create four main maps. Data can be viewed at the census tract level for the 13-County metro area (Butts, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding, and Rockdale).
To demonstrate issues of racial inequity in the Metro Atlanta Area all maps included racial demographic data and each map category includes the following variables:
Planning Atlanta: A New City in the Making, 1930s-1990s - a digital collection from Georgia State University Library consisting of city planning maps, city planning publications, demographic data, photographs depicting planning activities, oral histories, and aerial photographs. Much of the Planning Atlanta material was created by the City of Atlanta, the Atlanta Regional Commission, and the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. Additionally, the collection includes items from other agencies and entities, such as the MARTA.
The United States Department of Transportation’s Bureau of Transportation Statistics(BTS) is a great resource of City, State, and National-level transportation data including statistics and GIS data. Use the site’s search function to find data related to your interest. Below are a few key data resources from BTS that could be helpful for the hackathon:
33°N shares research about the metro Atlanta Region and is managed by the Research and Analytics Division of the Atlanta Regional Commission.
Atlanta Region Evictions Tracker – is a portal for mapping evictions activity in the metro Atlanta area as it is reflected in county court websites. Developed by the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta and Atlanta Regional Commission, in partnership with Georgia Tech's School of City and Regional Planning and Center for Spatial Planning Analytics and Visualization.
ATLMaps allows you to explore and layer historical maps and data collections from Emory, Georgia State University, and other institutions and scholars. Users are encouraged to make connections among the data to gain insight into Atlanta’s history and development.
Open Data from the Atlanta Regional Commission is a platform for enabling data accessibility, exploration, and collaboration. Download raw data and share your insights with your community or build live applications that serve specific users.
