This guide is designed to help you find and cite archival materials in Georgia State University's Special Collections and Archives.
LAUREL BOWEN, UNIVERSITY ARCHIVIST
lbowen@gsu.edu
As University Archivist, Laurel Bowen manages the permanently valuable records of Georgia State University. She assists university officials in locating records needed to conduct university business, answers questions about the university’s history, and helps everyone find material needed for their research.
MORNA GERRARD: WOMEN'S / GENDER AND SEXUALITY COLLECTIONS
mgerrard@gsu.edu
Morna Gerrard is the archivist for the Women's / Gender and Sexuality Collections. She acquires materials appropriate for inclusion in the collections, makes them available for research, and provides outreach to university, scholarly, and local communities. Morna will hold office hours via Zoom every Monday from 10:00am-12:00pm (check iCollege for the Zoom link). If you would like to make an appointment outside of her office hours, please schedule it a week before you want to meet.
BRITTANY NEWBERY: POPULAR MUSIC AND CULTURE
bnewberry@gsu.edu
Brittany serves as the curator of the music and popular culture collections held in Special Collections & Archives including the Johnny Mercer Collection. In this role, she acquires and preserves materials documenting 20th century and 21st century American music and culture, makes them available for research, and provides outreach to university, scholarly, and local communities. She works closely with the School of Music to put on a biennial Johnny Mercer Tribute concert and supervises graduate students using the Mercer collections to create curriculums for k-12 students.
LISA VALLEN: SOUTHERN LABOR ARCHIVES
evallen@gsu.edu
As the Southern Labor Archivist, Lisa is responsible for the acquisition, description, preservation and providing access to all of the materials located in the Southern Labor Archives. She is also the instruction coordinator for Special Collections & Archives.
Introduction to Special Collections and Archives at Georgia State University
This video provides an overview of Special Collections and Archives at GSU
Introduction to Special Collections and archives for K-12 audience
This video provides an overview of Special Collections and Archives at GSU
Archival Research and Finding Aid Overview
This video provides helpful tips about preparing to do research using finding aids
Introduction to ArchivesSpace
This video provides helpful tips about how to navigate and use ArchivesSpace to view our finding aids
Introduction to Digital Collections
This video provides helpful tips about how to navigate and use Digital Collections to view our digitized collections.
Search Engines
Google
WorldCat
Bibliographic information on collections of libraries from around the world. Note: the holdings of most Georgia libraries do not appear in WorldCat.
Archive Grid
Provides access to records describing archival materials such as historical documents, personal papers, and family histories, and primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies.
Research Guides
Archival Research
Provides an introduction to key terms and tools for conducting archival research
Gender and Sexuality Collections Subject Guide
Provides information about materials in the Gender and Sexuality Collections
Women's Collections Subject Guide
Provides information about materials in the Women's Collections
Finding Aids
Archives Space
Finding aids act as inventories that describe and list the contents of collections and contain information about the person, family, or organization that created the collection.
Digital Collections
Digital Collections
Search or browse collections from Georgia State University's Special Collections and Archives that have been digitized. You will find links to other digital collections ton each page of this Research Guide.
Manuscript Collections:
[Description of item], [date], [identifier], [box number], [folder number], [collection title], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA.
Example:
Planned Parenthood of Georgia board roster, 2008, Box 7, Folder 1, W084, Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA.
Manuscript materials in Digital Collections:
[Description of item], [date], [identifier], [collection title], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA. [Reference URL] [(date accessed)]
Example:
Letter, Assotto Saint to Franklin Abbott, November 10, 1987, Q108-M14, Franklin Abbott Papers, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA, https://digitalcollections.library.gsu.edu/digital/collection/abbott/id/685/rec/7 (accessed February 5, 2019)
Oral Histories:
[Name of interviewee] interview by [name of interviewer], [date of interview)], [identifier (if one exists)], [Name of oral history project], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA.
Example:
Jeff Graham oral history interview by Hillery Rink, August 8, 2014, Q101, Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA.
Oral Histories accessed online:
[Name of interviewee] interview by [name of interviewer], [date of interview)], [Name of oral history project], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA, [(date accessed)]
Example:
Eleanor Smith interview by Ilene Schroeder, May 13, 2013, Karuna Counseling Oral History Project, SmithE_20160513, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA, https://digitalcollections.library.gsu.edu/digital/collection/karuna/id/2/rec/4 (accessed March 20, 2018)
Article within a periodical:
[Author Name], [“Title of article”], [Name of journal] [issue/number] [(date of journal)]: [page numbers], [box number], [folder number], [name of collection], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA.
Example:
Jon Weatherman, "Christopher Street and Its Kind," RFD 175 (Fall 2018): 38-39, Box RFD, Gender and Sexuality Periodicals Collection, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University. Atlanta, GA.
Article within a periodical, accessed electronically:
[Author Name], [“Title of article”], [Name of journal] [issue/number] [(date of journal)]: [page numbers], [identifier], [Name of collection], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA. [Reference URL] [(date accessed)]
Example:
James Broughton, "The Holiness of Sexuality," Gay Spirit Visions Newsletter 1:1 (February 1995): 2-4, W-Per-GS_Visionary_1995-02, Gender and Sexuality Periodicals Collection, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University. Atlanta, https://digitalcollections.library.gsu.edu/digital/collection/gsv/id/4093/rec/10 (accessed September 25, 2020)
Special Collections and Archives
Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
GSU Library Special Collections and Archives: Located on the 8th floor of Library South.
Atlanta History Center Archives (Kenan Research Center): Collects primary and secondary source materials in all formats conveying the history of Atlanta and the culture of the American south. Besides Atlanta materials, collection strengths include the Civil War, southeast family history, architecture & decorative arts, and garden history.
Atlanta University Center Archives and Special Collections: Collections primarily document the African American experience through civil rights, race relations, education, literature, visual and performing arts, religion, politics, and social work.
Georgia Archives: Run by the Archives & History Division of the Georgia government - collects, manages, and preserves official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. Materials include vital records, land records, federal and state census records, photographs, and more.
Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History: A division of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System - the nation's second largest archives specializing in the history of African Americans and Africans in the Diaspora.
The William Breman Jewish Heritage & Holocaust Museum: This cultural center and archive collects artifacts and information about Jewish history. Areas of strength include the Holocaust and the experience of Jews in the Southeast, particularly Georgia and Alabama.
Emory University's Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (MARBL): Collections span more than 800 years of history — with particular depth in modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South.
Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library of the University of Georgia: Includes the Rare Book Collection, Historical Manuscripts, and the Georgiana Collection. Subject interests include Georgia, book arts, theater, music, history, literature, journalism and genealogy.
Jimmy Carter Library & Museum: Part of the Presidential Libraries system administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
National Archives - Southeast Region, Atlanta: Regional library administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
Georgia Historical Society: Oldest and most distinguished collection of materials related exclusively to Georgia history in the nation. Locations in Atlanta and Savannah.
