If you require assistance using the Southern Labor Archives, contact Lisa Vallen at evallen@gsu.edu.
American Federation of Teachers, Southern Organizing Project, 1978-1979 L1979-22
The records of the American Federation of Teachers, Southern Organizing Project, 1978-1979, consist primarily of printed promotional materials.
American Federation of Teachers, Local 1565, L1995-05
The American Federation of Teachers, Local 1565 (Atlanta, Ga.) records consist of office files, political files, benefits information, elections materials, correspondence, artifacts, and training materials. The majority of the material dates from the 1980s, with smaller amounts from the 1970s and early 1990s.
American Federation of Teachers, Local 1565, L1998-10
Unprocessed
Atlanta Education Association (AEA) records, 1905-1971 (L1975-31)
Atlanta Education Association (AEA) records, 1905-1971, consists of records of the Atlanta Education Association (AEA) and its predecessor organization, the Atlanta Public School Teachers Association (APSTA). The bulk of the records (1905-1967) relate to the APSTA while materials after 1967 pertain to the AEA. Includes correspondence, minutes, financial documents, committee files and printed materials. The records document the APSTA's and AEA's relationship with the Georgia Education Association, the American Federation of Teachers, the National Education Association, and the Atlanta Board of Education while illustrating the development and progress of labor and education in Atlanta.
Georgia Association of Educators, 1832, 1883-1901, 1921-2015 (L2015-34)
The Georgia Association of Educators is a component member of the National Education Association which acts as a professional organization for educators in the state of Georgia. The GAE provides legal services, professional support and learning, and political lobbying to its members in Georgia. The Georgia Association of Educators records (1921-2015) consist of convention materials, meeting minutes, membership materials, newspaper clippings, audio-visual materials, photographs, periodicals, central office files, and other printed materials.
Georgia Library Media Association, 1988-1994 (L1991-11)
The collection is comprised of documents kept by President Merchurea Chase Williams, and include policies, minutes, bylaws, articles, correspondence, applications, and directories, 1988-1994, describing the association's activities to insure the quality of library and media resources in public schools, throughout Georgia.
Georgia Federation of Teachers, L2006-12
Unprocessed
Metropolitan Atlanta Library Association, 1931-1977 (L1978-08)
The Metropolitan Atlanta Library Association, 1931-1977, contains correspondence, printed items, financial documents, minutes and organization constitutions on topics such as labor union involvement, cultural and educational comparisons of the U.S., integration, scholarship funding, and interest of students in library science education.
United Teachers of Dade County, L1978-18
Consists of "UTD Today" newsletters and United Teachers of Dade County, Florida, Constitution and Directory, 1978 Flyers, handbills, posters, contract proposal. Check with Archivist for access.
Grady School of Nursing Collections
Founded in March 1898, the Grady Hospital Training School for Nurses prepared young women from around the region for a career in nursing. Similarly, the Municipal Training School for Colored Nurses opened for African American nurses in 1917. When the schools merged in 1964, the program name was changed to the Grady School of Nursing. The school officially graduated its last class and closed in 1982.
The Grady School of Nursing Collection contains yearbooks and will continue to grow with the addition of oral history interviews and documentation of the School and its students.
Grady School of Nursing Oral History Project, 2014-2016 (Grady-OH)
The Grady School of Nursing Oral History Project consists of 6 oral history interviews conducted between 2014-2016.
Special Collections and Archives
Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
