If you require assistance using the Popular Music and Culture Collections, contact Brittany Newberry at bnewberry@gsu.edu.
Wayne W. Daniel Collection, 1891-2007 (M108)
The Wayne W. Daniel collection contains manuscript copies of the book Pickin' on Peachtree, audio cassette recordings of oral histories, photographs, posters and event flyers, commercial and non-commercial sound recordings, as well as commercial and non-commercial video recordings. The bulk of the collection is made up of Dr. Daniel's research files that he utilized to write his numerous articles and papers on country music as well as Pickin' on Peachtree.
Jazz and Swing Foundation Records, 1986-1988 (M069)
The records contain board activity reports, legal documents, correspondence, information on donors and their contributions, publicity materials, information on related organizations and events, and various subject files related to the functions and goals of the Jazz and Swing Foundation.
Florence Kopleff Papers, 1968-1980 (M224)
The Florence Kopleff papers contain rich documentation of the contralto's professional life as a performer, member of the Robert Shaw Chorale and associate of Shaw's, and as a vocal teacher, 1938-2012. The papers consist primarily of printed material, including concert programs, publicity material such as press kits and posters, articles, as well as sheet music, 1900-1993. The papers contain personal mementos including Kopleff's high school yearbooks,records related to the professional activities of the Shaw Chorale such as tour itineraries, cue sheets and stage directions for musical performances, and material documenting Kopleff's career at Georgia State University in Atlanta. The papers also include some correspondence, legal documents such as contracts, and creative works including writings and drawings. Material related to Robert Shaw, the Collegiate Choral and the Shaw Chorale, and Shaw's career in Atlanta form a separate series. Photographs, sound recordings, audiovisual recordings, and artifacts also comprise the papers.
Records of the Office of the President, 1925-1957, 1973-1997 (G02)
This collection includes materials that reflect the development of Georgia State University as well as the various departments and buildings within the university, from 1925 through the 1990s. Because of the President's position as a medium of communication between the Board of Regents and the rest of the university, the records in this group provide material on almost every aspect of university life. This collection includes records from student and faculty organizations, correspondence with faculty, staff and students, and various publications. The records also reflect the impact of local, state and national events and movements on the university community, such as World War II, the Cold War, desegregation at the university, and the 1996 Olympics. This collection includes files about the GSU School of Music and the Vaughn School of Music.
Special Collections and Archives
Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
