Oral Histories
The oral histories discussed throughout this curriculum can be found in the Special Collections and Archives: Georgia Women's Movement Oral History Project research guide. You can find this research guide by clicking here.
You can locate the mentioned oral histories by clicking on the alphabetized letter tabs. The guides are organized by the first letter of the last name of the woman whose oral history has been recorded.
"The Georgia Women's Movement Oral History Project, which was established in 1995, is an integral part of the Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives. The project documents the second wave of the women's movement in Georgia and in particular, state-wide efforts to pass the Equal Rights Amendment.
Most of the interviews were originally recorded on audio cassettes. These have been digitized and use copies are now available on CD-Roms.
This guide is a work in progess, as a few of the interviews have not yet been fully processed. The guide will be updated on a regular basis. If you would like to access any of the interviews, please contact the Women and Gender Collections Archivist."
A guide to the oral histories especially useful to this curriculum:
Carrie Nell Moye talks about debating the Equal Rights Amendment with a Baptist minister
Eva Parker talks about the African-American voting experience in the early 1960's
Sara Mitchell Parsons talks about desegregating the League of Women Voters in Atlanta
Janette Pratt talks about the accomplishments of the Women's Movement
Cathey Steinberg talks about serving on the Judiciary Committee and amending the rape laws
Cathey Steinberg talks about her early experiences as a female legislator
Sherry Sutton talks about the day of the vote for the ERA
Dorothy Tracy talks about the long term effects of the Women's Movement
Annabelle Walker talks about gender issues in marriage counseling
Photos of the ERA Debate:
Opponents of the ERA
- Awaiting outcome of Senate's vote
- Pledging allegiance to the flag
- Distributing anti-feminist literature
Proponents of the ERA
- Cindy Williams and Valerie Harper
- Jamie Weissman and Sherry Schulman
- Demonstrators at the Capital
- Representatives receive bouquets
- National Organization for Women
- Father and children support ratification
Cathey Steinberg:
- At an ERA ratification meeting
- Awaiting the Georgia State Senate's decision
- Speaking with fellow Senators.
Congressional Debates
- House of Representatives during ERA debate
- Senator Janice Horton debates
- Representative Lorenzo Benn debates
- Atlanta Braves during Senate vote
- House of Representatives Vote
- Supporters and Opponents watch Senate's vote
- Representative R.A. Dent debates
- Representative Eleanor Richardson debates
- Speaker of the House Thomas B. Murphy and Zell Miller with Governor George Busbee during debate
- Representative Tom Murphy dances during debate
Special Collections and Archives
Archives for Research on Women and Gender
Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives
Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law
Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
