Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library Catalog tells you about all the materials in the GSU libraries or in the entire USG system.
See Search Hints below...
to search names as a phrase | ex: "anderson cooper"
as a wild card | ex: wom*n
AND between words to NARROW results | ex: media AND healthcare
OR between words to EXPAND results | ex: African American OR Black
Use the Power of Subject Searching
Books in libraries are assigned one or more subject headings. These are standardized terms that ensure books on the same topic can be found even if the keywords are different, as with Istanbul and Constantinople.
Use GILFind (click "Catalog" on the library's homepage or just start here) to search in
- The Georgia State University Library catalog (includes all of the Perimeter campus libraries)
- The Georgia State University Law Library
- All University System of of Georgia libraries (select ""University System of Georgia" instead of "Georgia State University" in the , or in the "Search Scope" dropdown in Advanced Search)
Use the Browse Search link in GILFind to search by subject terms. (You can also search by subject in Advanced Search).
When you find a good book, look at its subject headings in the catalog record.
Follow these to list other items on that topic. Or, use the subject heading terms in a new keyword search.
Almost every college or university library in the US will use the Library of Congress Subject Headings. WorldCat also uses them.
Examples of Subject Terms
Searching broad terms like these using "Browse Search" will bring up results for that term AND for more specific phrases beginning with that term
For example .
- Mass media --> books on mass media broadly defined
but also, following that heading, you'll see links for subcategories like:
- Mass media Aesthetics
- Mass media Africa
- Mass media Africa, Sub-Saharan
and so on!
How to Find ebooks in GILFind
You can search for eBooks from all GSU library ebook databases in the GSU Library's GilFind catalog just as you would search for traditional print books. After you search, tweak your results to show only "full access online" and the "books" format to see only eBooks.
(Are you teaching? See a full description for embedding ebooks for course content).
Help! I've found an ebook in the library's catalog and I'm not sure how to download it!
Different providers (i.e. ProQuest, EBSCO, etc.) have different requirements. Check out our Ebooks research guide for information about how to read/download ebooks.
Other Options for Finding Ebooks
Most books published after 1924 will not be fully available in Google Books due to copyright protections. However, Google Books will often include a book's table of contents, and snippets or sections of text; sometimes an entire chapter will be included (and it might be the section you need!)
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust makes accessible a vast collection of works from an international community of research libraries. The collection includes more than 16 million volumes, nearly 6 million of which are in the public domain. GSU users get access to the largest number of volumes and features by logging in with their institutional credentials, including the ability to download PDFs of public domain works, and works made available under Creative Commons licenses. NOTE: Click yellow LOG IN button, choose Georgia State University and log in with CampusID and password.
Fulton County Library System
If you have a current library card from the Fulton County Library System, you are able to check out ebooks held in their collection. GSU affiliates are able to get an AFPLS card regardless of what county they live in. Check the Fulton County Library site
for information about getting an online library card.(If you have a library card for another public library system, check with that system to see what your borrowing options are).
Digital copies of books whose copyrights have expired.
Center for Research Libraries Digital Collections
Wide-ranging collection of digitized resources. Search the CRL's catalog, or browse the collection.
Digital library, includes scanned books for checkout (select "Books" from the top menu) as well as moving images, live music, audio.
Video Tutorial: Searching in GIL-Find
Not Finding an Ebook Version?
If you're not finding an ebook using the sources in the "Finding Electronic Books" box, you still have some options:
- Contact your Subject Librarian to see if it's possible to order an ebook. (Find your Subject Librarian by locating your school/department here).
- If you know that you only need a section of a book, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request for that section. You will need full citation information for the book and the page range that you are requesting. (Don't know the page information? Check Google Books to see if you can see the book's table of contents. Amazon's "Look Inside" feature might also provide this information).