The Information Cycle follows the progression of coverage of newsworthy event (i.e. current event) through various forms of media.
Knowing about and understanding the information cycle will help you choose and evaluate information sources covering your topic.
Wondering how current events cycle through various types of media? In this short video you will see how an event cycles through various forms of media over time.
The University library provides access to a variety of general databases for researching current and/or controversial issues. Click on the links below or explore a list of available article databases from this A to Z list.
This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
Provides unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy, 1991 present.
Provides U.S. public opinion poll data through a full-text retrieval system organized at the question level
Updated weekly, this database offers in depth articles to researchers seeking understanding in todays crucial issues in topics such as politics, business, society and education.
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Keep current with a few popular national and international news media outlets.
The Associated Press offers a range of news features and videos on a wide variety of topics. The AP also has a YouTube channel which includes both current and historical news videos.
The British Broadcasting Company offers news features from around the world on a wide variety of topics from technology and health. The website also includes access to special reports and video reports. Just use the tool bar near the top of the page to view top stories from other countries.
CNN features a searchable archives and live streaming video that is continuously updated throughout the day but be sure to read about IReport which gives students and news enthusiast the opportunity to share news with the world.
Offers breaking news headlines and comprehensive news coverage from the U.S. and worldwide. Ocasionally check the live video feed schedule for interesting reporting on a variety of current topics.
Browse some of the podcasts NPR offers. Options like Tell Me More captures news headlines along with a variety of topics (politics, spirituality, family, finance, arts, and lifestyle) relevant to multicultural life in America.
Select "Newspapers" in the Databases by Subject dropdown menu on the library's homepage to get a listing of all of our newspaper databases
(both current and historical).
***Please note: The library no longer subscribes to Nexis Uni.***
Try these databases for current newspaper coverage:
This link opens in a new windowAWNR delivers valuable information for academic research and coursework across the curriculum including history, English/language arts, health, DEI and more. Click here to watch video on how to conduct a basic search.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database features a wealth of new material and a new, dynamic interface that makes it easier than ever to explore the events that shape our world
A business information and research tool used to locate information on a variety of topics, including politics, current events, trends and government data.
Provides limited access to Atlanta Business Chronicle.
Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted.
This link opens in a new windowNearly 120 years of coverage from Georgia's most influential newspaper. A comprehensive digital archive of local, state and national history.
A comprehensive database of legal materials and journals, including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials
Provides access to Chronicle.com daily news, data, and analysis of current issues faced by universities dating back to 1989. Also provideds access to the Almanac of Higher Education, The Trends Report, and other newsletters with the creation of a free account.
