Skip to main content

*Historical Newspaper Holdings: International Newspapers

International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)

Search the International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) (a project of the Center for Research Libraries) for digitized international newspapers.

ICON lists newspapers by country and US state.


The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is also an excellent source for historical international newspapers on microfilm.

International News Sources

Selected sources for international news. These may focus on current news rather than historical news, but can be useful for identifying newspaper titles.

Using GIL to Find Historical Newspapers

Use the Journals tab on the GSU Library homepage to search for historical periodical holdings.

Keep the "All Journals" button selected. This will tell you if we have the journal in paper or in microfilm.

Click to enlarge image.

Using Center for Research Libraries to find Historical Newspapers

The Center for Research Libraries holds many international historical newspapers in microfilm or microform format.

Click on the "Newspapers" tab and then select a country to browse holdings for that country.

If a newspaper is held on microform (that is, microfilm or microfiche) at the Center for Research Libraries, you can place an Interlibrary Loan order for a specific date range. Use the "Other (Free Text)" request to request microform copies of newspapers or journals.

Using WorldCat to Find Newspapers

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

WorldCat is a database that searches libraries worldwide, including books, audiovisual materials, periodicals (magazines and newspapers), and archival materials. You can request many of the items in WorldCat using Interlibrary Loan.

Use Advanced Search to limit searches by author, title, and/or format.

WorldCat will also indicate if a digital version of the newspaper is available. More often than not, it will be available behind a paywall (and the GSU Library may or may not provide access) and/or only be limited to recent issues. But WorldCat may also link to a freely available version, so it's worth clicking to see whether the digital version is free or not. 

If you are looking for periodicals, look for records including the word "microform" or "microfilm." Most libraries will not lend out bound copies of periodicals, but many will lend microfilm versions.

* * * * *

Requesting Microfilm via Interlibrary Loan

When requesting microform copies through Interlibrary Loan, use the "Other (Free Text)" request option and include periodical title, dates needed, and note that you are requesting microfilm.

International Papers at GSU

This is a select list of GSU's international newspaper holdings. Additional titles can be located through GIL or the Journal Locator.

Indexes & Issues

Coverage

Location in Library or Online

The Beehive
(London)

1862-1876

HD8381.B44
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

The Call
(London)

1916-1920

HX3.C35
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

The Clarion
(London)

1891-1914

AN4.C53
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

The Communist
(London)

1920-1923

HX3.C35
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

Daily Herald
(London)

1911-1924

AN4.D354
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

Die Zeit
(Hamburg, Germany)

1970-Present

AN30.Z39
Current Shelves and Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

The Guardian
(London)

1984-Present

Online Lexis Nexis

1986-Present

AN4.M36
Current Shelves and Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

Guardian Weekly
(Manchester, England)

1968-1984

AN4.M369
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

Illustrated London News
(London)

1842-2003

Online:
Illustrated London News Historical Archive

Industrial Review
(London)

1877-1878

HD8381.B44
Periodical Microfilm (LN 1)

London Gazette

1665-1800

AN2.O94
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

Manchester Guardian Weekly
(Manchester, England)

1956-1968

AN4.M369
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

Le Monde
(Paris)

1969-1981

AN20.M66
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

1990-Present

Online Lexis Nexis

Northern Echo
(Darlington, England)

1870-1880

AN4.N674
Periodical Microfilm (LN 1)

The Pall Mall Gazette
(London)

1865-1923

AN4.P35
Periodical Microfilm (LN 1)

Palmer's Index to the Times (London) Newspaper
(See Times (London) Index)

1880-1890

Online 19th Century Masterfile

1790-1941

AI21.T5 (LN 5)

St. James's Gazette
(London)

1880-1888

AN4.S75
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

The Stars and Stripes
(London edition)

1942-1945

D731.S726
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

The Stars and Stripes
(Paris edition)

1918-1919

D501.S72
Periodical Microfilm (LN1)

Times (London) Index
(See Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper)

1985-Present

The Times and The Sunday Times Archive

1914-Present

AI21.T46 (LN 5)

Times (London)

 

1785-Present

AN4 .T55
Current Shelves and Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)

1785-1985

Times Digital Archive

1981-Present

Online Factiva

1990-Present

Online Lexis Nexis

Workers' Life
(London)

1927-1929

HX3.C35
Periodical Microfilm (LN 1)

Workers' Weekly
(London)

1923-1927

HX3.C35
Periodical Microfilm (LN 1)

World News
(London)

1954-1962

HX3.W67
Periodical Microfilm (LN 1)

World News and Views
(London)

1921-1953

HX3.W67
Periodical Microfilm (LN 1)

International Newspaper Collections Available @ GSU

Available to GSU affiliates only.

Web Collections