Skip to main content

Clarkston Library Content - Handouts: Race in America

Learn about library content.

Selected Sources on Race in America

Where to Go

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost Search for eBooks on GALILEO.

Article and Document Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

Civil Rights Digital Library -- Features an assortment of PRIMARY source letters, reports, articles and other documents searchable by keyword, person's name, and subject.

JSTOR:
Scholarly, full-text, humanities and social science (includes history and religion) articles.

Historical New York Times and Atlanta Journal and Constititution Articles written during the 1950's, 60's, and 70's.

Nexis Uni: Your source for current newspaper articles.

American History in Video includes videos about the civil rights and black power movements.

Films on Demand offers films on the Civil Rights and related movements.

And Don't Forget...

Handouts for You!

Selected Resources on Race in America

During 2016-2017, students at Georgia Perimeter College read the graphic novel, March, by John Lewis.. Though GPC is now GSU, race is still very much an issue in the United States. These books provide background on various aspects of the subject. They are mainly ebooks, but there are some print titles, both at Atlanta and Clarkston. You can read ebooks if you are are logged in at the library web site. This handout incudes general works on African Americans in the United States as well as books on education, health, and law enforcement. Hopefully, there should be something for anyone to launch his research on a race-related topic.

Race in America: Social and Cultural Aspects
African American Families Today : Myths and Realities Ebook Central
African American Identity : Racial and Cultural Dimensions of the Black Experience Ebook Central
African American Perspectives : Family Dynamics, Health Care Issues and the Role of Ethnic Identity Ebook Central
African Americans in Film : Issues of Race in Hollywood Ebook Central
Black Stats : African Americans by the Numbers in the Twenty-first Century Ebook Central
Blueprint for Black power : a moral, political, and economic imperative for the twenty-first Atlanta E185.615 .W54 1998
Conservatism in the Black Community : To the Right and Misunderstood Ebook Central
Free at last? : Black America in the twenty-first century Atlanta E185.86 .F745 2006
Marching as to War : Personal Narratives of African American Women’s Experiences in the Gulf Wars Ebook Central
Nobody Is Supposed to Know : Black Sexuality on the Down Low Ebook Central
Peace Be Still : Modern Black America From World War II to Barack Obama Ebook Central


Race in America: Social and Cultural Aspects Continued
Post Black : How a New Generation Is Redefining African American Identity Ebook Central
Racial Glass Ceiling : Subordination in American Law and Culture Ebook Central
Rewriting Exodus : American Futures from Du Bois to Obama Ebook Central
Sprawl City: Race, Politics, and Planning in Atlanta HT243.U62 A757 2000
Stuck in Place : Urban Neighborhoods and the End of Progress toward Racial Equality Ebook Central
We Ain't What We Ought to Be: The Black Freedom Struggle from Emancipation to Obama E185 .T797 2010
White Flight: Atlanta and the Making of Modern Conservatism F294.A89 A233 2005
Yes we did! From King's dream to Obama's Promise E185.615 .F56 2009


Race and Health
Black and blue : the origins and consequences of medical racism Ebook Central
The death gap : how inequality kills Atlanta RA418.3.U6 A57 2017
Health Disparities Among Under-served Populations : Implications for Research, Policy and Praxis EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Health Disparities, Diversity, and Inclusion EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Heart-Sick: The Politics of Risk, Inequality, and Heart Disease EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Just Medicine : A Cure for Racial Inequality in American Health Care EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Medical Bondage: Race, Gender, and the Origins of American Gynecology JSTOR Open Access
Medicating Race: Heart Disease and Durable Preoccupations with Difference Duke University Press
The Power to Heal: Civil Rights, Medicare, and the Struggle to Transform America's Health Care System Atlanta RA412.4 .S54 2016
Race, Ethnicity, and Health : A Public Health Reader Ebook Central
Race in a Bottle : The Story of BiDil and Racialized Medicine in a Post-Genomic Age Ebook Central
Subprime Health: Debt and Race in U.S. Medicine Atlanta


Race in Law Enforcement, Mass Incarceration, and the Black Lives Matter Movement
Black Lives Matter: a Guide to an American Subculture Ebook Central
Black Lives Matter & Music: Protest, Intervention, Reflection Atlanta ML3556 .B57 2018
Children of the Prison Boom : Mass Incarceration and the Future of American Inequality EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Chokehold: Policing Black Men Atlanta HV8141 .B88 2017
Excessive Use of Force : One Mother's Struggle Against Police Brutality and Misconduct Atlanta HV8141 .P72 2018
Making All Black Lives Matter : Reimagining Freedom in the Twenty-First Century Atlanta E185.615 .R26 2018
Policing and Race in America : Economic, Political, and Social Dynamics Atlanta HV8141 .P65 2018
Policing Black bodies: How Black Lives are Surveilled and how to Work for Change Atlanta HV9950 .H395 2018
Policing the Planet: Why the Policing Crisis Led to Black Lives Matter Atlanta HV8141 .P5977 2016
The Prison School : Educational Inequality and School Discipline in the Age of Mass Incarceration EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Race and Policing Ebook Central
Rethinking the American Prison Movement Ebook Central
The Struggle Over Black Lives Matter and All Lives Matter Atlanta E185.615 .E34 2018
Understanding Mass Incarceration : A People's Guide to the Key Civil Rights Struggle of Our Time Ebook Central
Until We Reckon : Violence, Mass Incarceration, and a Road to Repair Ebook Central
Who Do You Serve, Who Do You Protect? : Police Violence and Resistance in the United States Ebook Central


Race and Education
African American Male Students in PreK-12 Schools: Informing Research, Policy, and Practice Ebook Central
AntiRacist School Leadership : Toward Equity in Education for America’s Students Introduction Ebook Central
Black Male Teachers: Diversifying the United States' Teacher Workforce Ebook Central
Black School, White Schoo: Racism and Educational (mis)Leadership Atlanta LC212.2 .B76 2012
Class rules: Exposing Inequality in American High Schools Atlanta LC191.4 .C67 2013
Despite the Best Intentions: How Racial Inequality Thrives in Good Schools LC212.2 .L487
Education and Racism: A Primer on Issues and Dilemmas Ebook Central
Ending Zero Tolerance: The Crisis of Absolute School Discipline KF4159 .B57 2016
Implicit Bias in Schools: A Practitioner's Guidei> Ebook Central
Inequality for all: The Challenge of Unequal Opportunity In American Schools Atlanta LC213.2 .S365 2012
Pushout: The Criminalization of Black Girls in Schools EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
School Discipline: Views on Disparate Impacts for Children of Color Ebook Central
Schooltalk: Rethinking What We Say About and To Students Every Day Ebook Central
There Is Nothing Wrong with Black Students Ebook Central
Untold Narratives: African Americans who Received Special Education Services and Succeeded Beyond Expectations Ebook Central
Young, Triumphant, and Black : Overcoming the Tyranny of Segregated Minds in Desegregated Schools Atlanta LC3993.9 .Y693 2013