Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clarkston Library Content - Handouts: Immigration

Learn about library content.

Immigration Selected Sources

Where to Go

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost Search for eBooks on GALILEO.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

Films on Demand for videos about immigration and more.

JSTOR
: Scholarly, full-text social science (includes immigration) articles.

News and Newspapers: Read about immigration without paywalls.

Statistical Abstract of the United States -- Find statistics about United States immigration and many other topics.

And Don't Forget...

Clarkston Library Resources or...

Handouts for You.

Selected Immigration Sources

Immigration, diversity, and multiculturalism are hot, perennial, research topics. This guide page lists books, eBooks, and databases that provide background information for and a place to launch your immigration paper, PowerPoint, or other project. The print sources are mainly at Clarkston, but the eBooks and articles, are available through the the library's databases. Make sure you are logged in, if you are off campus.


Immigrants in the United States
Border Brokers: Children of Mexican Immigrants Navigating U. S. Society, Laws, and Politics EBook Central
Borders of Belonging : Struggle and Solidarity in Mixed-Status Immigrant Families EBook Central
Children of Immigrants at School : A Comparative Look at Integration in the United States and Western Europe EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Crossing Borders EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Crossings to Adulthood: How Diverse Young Americans Understand and Navigate Their Lives EBook Central
Deconstructed : An Insider's View of Illegal Immigration and the Building Trades EBook Central
Dreams and Nightmares: Immigration Policy, Youth, and Families EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Elusive Jannah : The Somali Diaspora and a Borderless Muslim Identity EBook Central
How Many Is Too Many?: The Progressive Argument for Reducing Immigration into the United States EBook Central
Immigrant California: Understanding the Past, Present, and Future of U. S. Policy EBook Central
Immigration, Emigration, and Migration: NOMOS LVII EBook Central
Immigration: Examining the Facts EBook Central
Legal and Illegal Immigration GVRL


Immigrants in the United States Continued
Race-ing Fargo : Refugees, Citizenship, and the Transformation of Small Cities EBook Central
Refugees in America : Stories of Courage, Resilience, and Hope in Their Own Words EBook Central
Road to Citizenship: What Naturalization Means for Immigrants and the United States EBook Central
The Undocumented Americans EBook Central
U. S. Immigration in the Twenty-First Century : Making Americans, Remaking America EBook Central


Immigration: The Southern Border and Current Enforcement
Abolish ICE : The Case for Abolition EBook Central
Baby Jails : The Fight to End the Incarceration of Refugee Children in America EBook Central
The Battle to Stay in America : Immigration's Hidden Front Line EBook Central
Border Policing : A History of Enforcement and Evasion in North America EBook Central
Border Towns and Border Crossings: a History of the U. S. -Mexico Divide EBook Central
Caging Borders and Carceral States : Incarcerations, Immigration Detentions, and Resistance EBook Central
The Criminalization of Immigration: Truth, Lies, Tragedy, and Consequences EBook Central
Crisis on the Border : An Eyewitness Account of Illegal Aliens, Violent Crime, and Cartels EBook Central
Detain and Deport: The Chaotic U. S. Immigration Enforcement Regime EBook Central
Divided by the Wall : Progressive and Conservative Immigration Politics at the U. S. -Mexico Border EBook Central
Divided Peoples: Policy, Activism, and Indigenous Identities on the U. S. -Mexico Border EBook Central
Here We May Rest: Alabama Immigrants in the Age of HB 56 EBook Central
Love in the Drug War: Selling Sex and Finding Jesus on the Mexico-US Border EBook Central
Migrating to Prison : America’s Obsession with Locking Up Immigrants EBook Central
New Deportations Delirium: Interdisciplinary Responses EBook Central
On the Border : Portraits of America's Southwestern Frontier EBook Central
Protect, Serve, and Deport: The Rise of Policing as Immigration Enforcemen JSTOR
Returned: Going and Coming in an Age of Deportation EBook Central
The River and the Wall EBook Central
Unaccompanied Alien Children in the United States : Issues and Trends EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection


Immigration History
The Accidental History of the U.S. Immigration Courts : War, Fear, and the Roots of Dysfunction EBSCOHost eBook Collection
The Chinese Must Go : Violence, Exclusion, and the Making of the Alien in America EBook Central
Chinatown Files American History in Video
Deportation in the Americas: Histories of Exclusion and Resistance EBook Central
Ellis Island Films on Demand
Ellis Island Nation : Immigration Policy and American Identity in the Twentieth Century EBook Central
The Huddled Masses Myth : Immigration and Civil Rights EBook Central
Imaginary Lines : Border Enforcement and the Origins of Undocumented Immigration, 1882-1930 EBook Central
Inventing America’s First Immigration Crisis: Political Nativism in the Antebellum West JSTOR
National Insecurities : Immigrants and U.S. Deportation Policy Since 1882 EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
New Americans: A Guide to Immigration Since 1965 EBook Central
The Walls Within: The Politics of Immigration in Modern America JSTOR