Skip to Main Content

Science and Technology Sources - Handouts: Step by Step with EBSCOHost Medline with Full Text

Here you can find the handouts and instructions for using many of the library's Science and Technology databases as well as Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology.

Step by Step wtih EBSCOHost Medline with Full Text

Where to Go

Back to Step by Step with Science and Technology Databases.

Have you looked atStep by Step for Finding Books and Using Popular Databases,

Back to Handouts for You

Search EBSCOHost Medline with Full Text.

Step by Step with EBSCOHost Medline with Full Text

Ebsco Medline is a database that offers text articles on medical topics and basic biology, anatomy, and physiology. This handout takes you step by step through both basic and advanced searching.

  1. Before you touch the keyboard, think carefully about your topic. Most topics for college level papers have two main ideas in them. If your topic does not have two ideas, then you may want to narrow it down. A good example of a paper topic is: antibiotic resistance in helicobacter pylori. Helicobacter pylori is a bacteria that infects the digestive tract.


  2. The main ideas in this topic are: "helicobacter pylori" which you can bind together with "quotes" because a bacteria's name is a phrase, and resistance.


  3. To help Ebsco Medline understand your topic, your search statement becomes: "helicobacter pylori" AND resistance. The AND is not a word but a logical operator that tells the computer to look for all articles that deal with both resistance and helicobacter pylori. Here is how Medline sees your search statement. The overlap between the circles is your search results.

    helicobacter pylori and resistance

  4. To search EBSCO Medline select M from the alphabet below the big search box on the library page, http://library.gsu.edu. Then scroll down to EBSCOHost Medline and click the link.
    The big alphabet bar under the big search box. GALILEO wears Panther blue
  5. Type your search statement into the box in Basic Search. Don't forget to check off the Full Text box.

    search in Basic mode

  6. Click the Search button to launch your search.


  7. Medline presents results ten(10) at a time, and you can move among them with the scroll bar and move between pages with the Previous, Next, and Page Number links.


  8. Medline also lists subject headings under the light green buttons on the left side of the page.


  9. To see an article's abstract and full text where available, click on its blue title.


  10. To see an article that is a PDF file or page image, click on its PDF icon.


    • To print an article, click on Ebsco's print icon.
    • To email an article, click on Ebsco's email icon and fill out the form.
    • To save an article to a folder you can open at home, login to your personal Ebsco account and then click on the folder icon.
    • To send a persistent link to your article or search to Yahoomail, Gmail, Twitter, or MySpace: click Share or Bookmark in small print and then choose an option.


  12. To end a search in Ebsco Medline, click the Home icon in the browser's top row or close your browser.

Ebsco Medline Advanced Search

If you are visually oriented, want more space and flexibility, or plan to try several related searches, then Medline's Advanced Search is for you.

  1. Instead of using an AND between ideas in a search statement, in Advanced Search, you fill separate rows with your ideas, one row per idea.


  2. You can also put two or more synonyms for one idea together using OR, a logical operator that joins synonyms as a single idea.


  3. In Advanced Search, fill in the multibox.

    medline advanced search

    Select Full Text, and click Search.

  4. If you want to modify an Advanced Search, edit one or more rows in the Advanced Search multibox near the top of the screen.