Archdiocese of Atlanta Pro-Life Newsletter Collection, 1977-1993 (W046)
The collection includes newsletters (1977-1993) produced by state organizations (Florida, Georgia, Minnesota, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania) as well as national organizations (including Americans United for Life, National Right to Life Committee, Stop Planned Parenthood, and Feminists for Life of America) and individuals.
This collection has been digitized.
Carol Ashkinaze Papers, 1970-1995 (W043)
In Atlanta, Carole Ashkinaze wrote about a number of controversial issues including the Equal Rights Amendment, abortion, women's rights, feminism, poverty, health-care, politics, education and race. The Carole Ashkinaze papers are organized into three series consisting of manuscript materials (correspondence), printed materials (her columns, research articles and articles written about Carole Ashkinaze), and finally photographs and artifacts.
Collection includes newspaper columns about women's issues. These columns have been digitized.
Margaret Miller Curtis Papers (W005)
During the 1970s and 1980s Margaret Miller Curtis functioned as a writer, lobbyist, and fundraiser for a number of organizations, including People of Faith for the ERA, ERA Georgia, Inc., and the Council on Battered Women. Manuscript materials (notes, correspondence, news clippings, printed materials and publications) in this collection document not only her involvement with these organizations, but her attendance at major conferences concerning women and the ERA, as well as her involvement in politics and religion.
The collection includes a large number of letters to the editor of local newspapers. These letters have been digitized.
Feminist Postcard Collection, 1968-1989 (W075)
The collection consist of one hundred and twenty-three picture postcards and two greeting cards. The bulk of the postcards represent feminist women and feminist activities. There are also a small number that are less serious in nature, including English seaside postcards, postcards representing magazine graphics, and postcards with amusing catch-phrases. Unidentified and undated Victorian picture postcards with a "battle of the sexes" theme also form part of the collection.
This collection has been digitized.
Women's Printed Collections: Periodicals
The Women's Printed Collection: Periodicals is an artificial collection of serial publications by or about women. Materials are usually received by Special Collections along with donated manuscript collections. Significant periodicals include Ms., Off Our Backs, Georgia Voter, published by the League of Women Voters of Georgia; Women's Political Reporter, published by the Georgia Women's Political Caucus; and newsletters published by local and national chapters of the National Organization for Women, such as NOW Notes and National Now Times. Topics include the Equal Rights Amendment ratification efforts in the state of Georgia and the United States; the Women's Movement in Georgia and the United States; women's political, professional, and religious organizations; newsletters from Women's Studies departments at colleges and universities throughout the United States, Canada, and Britain; rape and violence against women; and other issues of importance to women.
Women's Printed Collections: Pamphlets
The "Printed Collection: Pamphlets" is an artificial collection of published and unpublished materials by or about women. Although called a pamphlet collection, this is in fact what some might consider to be a subject file or a vertical file, as it also includes reports, articles, directories, etc. Materials are usually received by Special Collections along with donated manuscript collections. Subjects include discrimination in employment; the equal rights amendment, reproductive rights, and religion; sex discrimination, social security and women's history; and various women's organizations, such as the American Association of University Women [AAUW], the National Organization for Women [NOW] and the National Women's Political Caucus [NWPC].
Atlanta March for Social Justice and Women, 2017-
The Atlanta March for Social Justice and Women took place on Saturday, January 21, 2017, one day after the inauguration of the 45th President of the United States, Donald Trump. The March was organized by Harmel Codi, Gina Gareau-Clark, Janel Green, Gerald A, Griggs, Blynne Olivieri and Aisha Yaqoob. Speakers included Stacey Y. Abrams, Park Cannon, Stephanie Davis, Vincent Fort, Staci Fox, Shirley Franklin, Dr. Francys Johnson, Hank Johnson, John Lewis, Edward Ahmed Mitchell, Luma Mufleh, Tiffany Roberts and Tanya Washington. Marchers congregated at the Center for Civil and Human Rights, and marched to Liberty Plaza, adjacent to the State Capitol Building. Ten thousand protesters were expected to take part, however, it is estimated that over 60,000 people attended.
Collection includes posters, photographs, pussy hats, t-shirts, tights.
Elaine Hazleton Bolton Papers, 1980-1981 (W039)
Elaine Hazleton Bolton worked as a political activist in support of ERA ratification and began her political activism in the late 1970s by working as a legislative aid to Senator Virginia Shapard. The Elaine Hazleton Bolton papers includes a file documenting the Polly Bergen/National Business Council for the Equal Rights campaign,
Collection includes a necklace, two pinback buttons, a t-shirt and two scarves.
Nancy N. Boothe Papers, 1980-2009 (W079)
Nancy Boothe became Executive Director of the Atlanta Feminist Women's Health Center in 1994. In 1995, she attended the Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing, China, where she taught the workshop, "GYN Self-Help." Boothe has served on the boards of All Women's Health Services in Portland and Eugene, Oregon; the Sexual Assault Center, Atlanta, Georgia; and the Jeanette Rankin Foundation, Athens, Georgia. She is also a member of the Feminist Majority Foundation's "Women's Commission for Congressional Oversight" and A.P.D. Citizen Review Panel.
Collection includes artwork (posters, artists book, lithograph), photographs, bags, banner, t-shirts.
Jeanne Cahill Papers 1953-1993 (W003)
Jeanne Taylor Cahill, civic activist and businesswoman, was born in Alma (Ware County), Georgia in 1932. The Cahill papers are comprised of subject files, personal papers and artifacts reflecting the political, and activist activities of Jeanne Cahill.
Collection includes jewelry, buttons, t-shirts, towel.
Margaret Miller Curtis Papers, 1973-1998 (W005)
During the 1970s and 1980s Margaret Miller Curtis functioned as a writer, lobbyist, and fundraiser for a number of organizations, including People of Faith for the ERA, ERA Georgia, Inc., and the Council on Battered Women. Manuscript materials (notes, correspondence, news clippings, printed materials and publications) in this collection document not only her involvement with these organizations, but her attendance at major conferences concerning women and the ERA, as well as her involvement in politics and religion.
Collection includes cartoons, broadsides, posters, postcard, t-shirts , buttons. Some of these materials have been digitized.
Anne Deeley Papers, 1975-1983 (W026)
Anne Deeley has been a champion of women's rights both as an activist and a businesswoman. The Anne Deeley papers, 1975-1983, include material from two scrapbooks (dismantled for preservation purposes) of photographs, contact sheets, printed material (flyers, newsletters, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, invitations, programs and registration forms), and letters pertaining to Deeley-Fenton and Associates, Inc., the Atlanta chapter of the Feminist Action Alliance, women and work, and career training.
Collection includes photographs, t-shirt, pamphlets, flyers.
Saribenne Evesong Artwork Collection, 1971-1978 undated (W068)
The collection is comprised of paper works, watercolors and an autobiography, The Teacher Within: An Intimate Story of Inner Discover and Healing. The paperworks include watercolors, artists books/bookworks and art objects.
Collection includes artwork.
Georgians for Choice Records, 1974-2008 (W078)
Formed in 1986, Georgians for Choice brought together a number of women's organizations in an effort to greater impact the protection and expansion of women's reproductive freedom in Georgia. The records consist of correspondence and printed material, as well as minutes and agendas, financial records, legal records, photographs, audio-visual records, and artifacts including textiles, that document the legislative, organizational, advocacy, and educational work of the organization.
Collection includes buttons, bumper stickers, posters, photographs, t-shirts.
Beverly Jordan Papers, 1980-1986 (W004)
Beverly Turner Jordan was born in Buffalo, N.Y. in 1937. The Jordan Collection is arranged by subject/format categories: Manuscript materials include records relating to the Cobb County and Georgia Women's Political Caucus and ERA Georgia, Inc., as well as Jordan's Rolodex cards (originals and photocopies).
Collection includes stickers, pins, skirt, sweater, sweatshirt.
Sydney and Deena Kushner Papers, 1981-1982 (W017)
Sidney and Deena Kushner reside in Athens, Georgia, and have been active with ERA Athens, ERA Georgia, and other organizations. The collection is comprised of ephemera related to efforts to pass the Equal Rights Amendment in Georgia.
Collection includes ERA: Bumper stickers, button, t-shirt, broadside, postcard.
NARAL Pro-Choice Georgia Records, 1964; 1973-2006 (W072)
Incorporated in 1980 as the Georgia Abortion Rights Action League (GARAL), NARAL Pro-Choice Georgia was the Georgia affiliate of the National Abortion Rights Action League (NARAL). Its records, 1964, 1980-2006, document the direction and administration of the organization, its involvement in the political process in the state, the projects and programs it undertook to further its mission, and materials it gathered regarding reproductive health and rights, activism in Georgia, and political issues.
Collection includes photographs, buttons, bumper stickers, t-shirts, artwork, posters, magnets.
Pici Papers, 1949-2004 (Q179)
Pici papers, 1949-2004 (bulk 1979-1981) documents Atlanta’s lesbian community of the 1970s with artifacts of the Red Dyke Theatre group, Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance (ALFA), and community events. The Red Dyke Theatre was created in 1974 by Frances Pici and other members of ALFA. Their performances contained parodies of pop culture and issues that affected women and lesbians at that time. This collection features photos, various film and audio, and costumes from the Red Dyke Theatre group as well as paper documents and scripts. Red Dyke Theater Collection includes costumes, flyers, programs, photographs.
Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, 1940; 1955-2011 (W084)
Founded in 1964, Planned Parenthood Southeast provides voluntary family planning services and education. The Atlanta-based organization's records, 1955-2011 (bulk 1972-2008), reflect its administration, projects, daily operations, and engagement with legislative issues, as well as that of its predecessors, Planned Parenthood of the Atlanta Area and Planned Parenthood of Georgia.
Collection includes buttons, magnets, stickers, key chains, event favors, postcards, photographs, posters, scrapbooks.
Sherry Shulman Sutton Papers, 1978-1992 (W038)
Sherry Shulman Sutton, a native of Atlanta, Georgia, has been active in Georgia politics since the 1970s when she became involved in the Equal Rights Amendment/Women's Rights movement. She served as the legislative liaison for Equal Rights Amendment, Georgia (1980-1981) and then acted as the group's president, 1981-1982. During this time she was also the chair of the DeKalb County Democratic Party, 1980-1982. She served as the District 2 Commissioner of DeKalb County, 1985-1992. While Commissioner, she helped lead the effort to block the construction of the Presidential Parkway. She received her B.A. in Political Science from Emory University in 1981. Sutton worked on staff at Georgia Shares, an organization that helps raise funds for social aid organizations in Georgia.
Collection includes t-shirt, bag, poster.
Women's March on Washington, 2017-
The Women's March on Washington took place on Saturday, January 21, 2017, one day after the inauguration of the 45th President of the United States, Donald Trump. Marchers congregated at the intersection of Independence Avenue and Third Street SW, near the U.S. Capitol and after a rally, marched to The White House. Approximately 200,000-400,000 marchers were expected to take part, however, it is estimated that between 500,000 and 1.2 million people attended.
Collection includes posters, photographs, pussy hats, t-shirts.
You are welcome to visit our Reading Room by appointment only to view our collections. You can use our online registration portal to make an appointment and to request materials to view. An archivist or other staff member will be available during your appointment to answer questions.
You can request materials in both ArchivesSpace and Digital Collections via the "Request This Item" button located on the upper right side of the page.
Please contact archives@gsu.edu with any questions.
