This guide is a companion for the Fall semester of English 1102. The course is titled Atlanta's Print Cultures: Building Multimodal Communication & Research Skills and is held on Tuesdays and Thursday, 2:15-3:00 PM.
LISA VALLEN: SOUTHERN LABOR ARCHIVES
evallen@gsu.edu
As the Southern Labor Archivist, Lisa is responsible for the acquisition, description, preservation and providing access to all of the materials located in the Southern Labor Archives. She is also the instruction coordinator for Special Collections & Archives. Lisa will hold office hours via zoom every Wednesday from 10:00am-11:00am (check iCollege for the zoom link). If you would like to make an appointment outside of her office hours, please schedule it a week before you want to meet.
MORNA GERRARD: WOMEN'S / GENDER AND SEXUALITY COLLECTIONS
mgerrard@gsu.edu
Morna Gerrard is the archivist for the Women's / Gender and Sexuality Collections. She acquires materials appropriate for inclusion in the collections, makes them available for research, and provides outreach to university, scholarly, and local communities. Morna will hold office hours via Zoom every Monday from 10:00am-12:00pm (check iCollege for the Zoom link). If you would like to make an appointment outside of her office hours, please schedule it a week before you want to meet.
JOSH HOGAN: ATLANTA CIVIC & NEIGHBORHOOD HISTORY
jhogan18@gsu.edu
Josh Hogan is responsible for donor relations, collecting, arranging, describing, and providing access to the Atlanta Civic & Neighborhood History collection. He is also responsible for the digital preservation efforts of Special Collections & Archives.
Brittany Newberry: POPULAR MUSIC AND CULTURE COLLECTIONS
bnewberry@gsu.edu
As the Popular Music and Culture Archivist, Michelle helps oversees collections pertaining to songwriter Johnny Mercer, early country music, radio broadcasting, and popular culture. She also serves as the Media Preservation Coordinator for the Special Collections and Archives.
Manuscript Collections:
[Description of item], [folder title], [box number], [folder number], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area]. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
Planned Parenthood of Georgia board roster, Planned Parenthood of Georgia, Inc. -- Board notebook, 2008, Box: 7, Folder: 1. Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, W084. Archives for Research on Women, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Oral Histories:
[Name of interviewee] oral history interview by [name of interviewer], [location of interview], [date of interview]. [Name of oral history project], [manuscript number (if one exists)]. [Collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
Jeff Graham oral history interview by HIllery Rink, Atlanta, GA, August 8, 2014. Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project, Q101. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Periodicals:
[name of periodical], [issue/number], [box number], [folder number (if it exists)], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
AID Atlanta newsletter, Fall 1984, Box: A, Gender and Sexuality Periodicals Collection, Q-GS-Periodicals. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Articles within a Periodical:
[author last name], [author first name], [name of periodical], [issue/number], [box number], [folder number], [name of collection], [manuscript number], [collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
Weatherman, Jon. "Christopher Street and Its Kind." RFD 175 (Fall 2018): 36-37, Box RFD, Gender and Sexuality Periodicals Collection, Q-GS-Periodicals. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Digital Collections:
[Description of object], [identifier], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area]. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
"Economic Justice and Women's Human Rights: A Position Paper, February 2005, " W114_02_06, Committee on Women, Population, and the Environment Depo Diaries records, W114. Archives for Research on Women. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Special Collections and Archives
Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
You are welcome to visit our Reading Room by appointment only to view our collections. You can use our online registration portal to make an appointment and request materials to view. An archivist or other staff member will be available during your appointment to answer questions.
You can request materials in both ArchivesSpace and Digital Collections via a "Request this Item" button located in the upper right side of the page.
Please contact archives@gsu.edu with any questions.
