The Southern Conference Educational Fund (SCEF) was established in 1946 as the educational arm of the Southern Conference for Human Welfare (SCHW). SCEF became a completely separate organization the following year and based most of its activities out of its New Orleans, Louisiana, office. James Anderson Dombrowski directed the group and edited its monthly newspaper, the Southern Patriot. Dombrowski and Aubrey Williams became the most visible figures in SCEF during the 1950s, and they helped establish the organization as a leading proponent of integration and civil rights in the South. The Southern Patriot, later known as the Southern Struggle, was the organization's monthly newsletter.
The Labor Periodicals Collection is a collection of printed journals, newspapers, newsletters and other published materials separated from various Southern Labor Archives organizational collections, or acquired through subscription. Most titles are the official publications of AFL-CIO affiliated labor organizations, primarily in the Southeast, however the collection also includes many national and international union publications.
The Southern Labor Archives Pamphlet Collection is an artificial collection of original pamphlets that were donated over the years to the Archives. Although called a pamphlet collection, this is in fact what some might consider to be a subject file or a vertical file, as it also includes reports, articles, directories, etc. A variety of subject matter, primarily labor-related, are covered throughout the collection.
This collection includes cartoons, realistic illustrations, and photographic reproductions that depict workers, unions, strikes, and labor leaders. Most of the prints are from such publications as Harper's Weekly, Puck, and Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, and include works by important cartoonists including Thomas Nast, Joseph Ferdinand Keppler, and Frederick Burr Opper.
Atlanta Labor Council records [accession L1990-21] primarily comprise printed material, including reports, periodicals, pamphlets and posters, and newspaper clippings, 1967-1990 (bulk 1963-1980). The records also include correspondence, constitutions, contracts, proceedings, and convention materials. The materials document the Atlanta Labor Council and the activities of its president, Richard Ray, as well as other organizations including the Private Industry Council of Atlanta; the Georgia State AFL-CIO; the AFL-CIO and its Committee on Political Education; the American Flint Glass Workers Union; the International Union of United Brewery, Flour, Cereal, Soft Drink and Distillery Workers; and the United Food and Commercial Workers Union. Other organizations documented include the United Way and the Democratic Socialists of America.
The collection consists of correspondence between employers and Local No. 2, administrative files and various records, financial records and statements (dues check off, monthly statements), artifacts (dues books, lapsed membership records, honorary withdrawal requests), speeches and speech materials, newspaper clippings (some for Senator T. Allgood, District 22), strike information, and various subject files. IAMAW, Local Lodge 2, was involved in organizing other locals in the area. It also had members in various local industries and companies, including Coca-Cola Bottlers, Inc., Winder Transportation, and Atlanta Wire Works.
The records, 1972-2009 (bulk 1984-2006), of non-profit organization 9to5 Atlanta Working Women consist primarily of correspondence, grant and funding proposals, meeting minutes and agendas, surveys and reports, membership records, campaign and project materials, photographs, reference files, and audio-visual material. The collection documents the major campaigns and activities of 9to5 while also detailing the day-to-day functioning of a major non-profit organization. Correspondence is located throughout the collection, the majority between the national executive board and Atlanta staff director Cindia Cameron, chapter staff members, volunteers, and members of affiliated organizations. The collection contains an assortment of reference/statistics files, including news clippings, reports and surveys, factsheets, pamphlets, booklets, legislative documents, and organizational resources related to non-profits and social organizing as well as major campaigns and legislation. Although the collection documents primarily the work of and interactions between the national board and Atlanta 9to5, the collection also includes administrative and campaign files from other state chapters.
You are welcome to visit our Reading Room by appointment only to view our collections. You can use our online registration portal to make an appointment and request materials to view. An archivist or other staff member will be available during your appointment to answer questions.
You can request materials in both ArchivesSpace and Digital Collections via a "Request this Item" button located in the upper right side of the page.
Please contact email@example.com with any questions.