Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the AJC Photographic Archives
Jay Shoemake leading group of marchers in the annual Gay Pride celebrations and parade, Atlanta, Georgia, June 27, 1993.
AJCP278-021a, Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographic Archives. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.
Couple in Gay Pride Day celebration, Atlanta, Georgia, June 19, 1980.
AJCP212-021a, Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographic Archives. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.
Manuscript Collections in Atlanta
Manuscript Collections in North America
- Lavender Legacies
Society of American Archivists' Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable Guide to Sources in North America
Want to suggest additional resources for this guide? Have a purchase recommendation? Want to help with the oral histories projects? Need assistance with finding resources? Contact us!
Humanities Instruction Librarian
Gender & Sexuality Collections Archivist
Sociology/Data Services Librarian
Download the LGBTQ+ Resources @ the GSU Library flyer!
Digital Resources Available @ GSU
Contains full text content for LGBT journals, magazines, regional newspapers, monographs, and books. It includes relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies, an LGBT thesaurus, author supplied abstracts and keywords, and searchable cited references.
Formerly: LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBTQ Collection (Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library)
The LGBTQ Digital Collection is comprised of miscellaneous materials documenting the Georgia LGBTQ community. Materials in this collection represent a wide-ranging assortment of topics and events. LGBTQ materials can also be found in a variety of other including collections, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographs Collection, the Archives for Research on Women and Gender, and the Franklin Abbott Papers.
Fulltext database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Contains full runs of each scholarly journal included. Useful for tracking history of scholarly treatment of a subject.
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
A cross-cultural resource for the study of women's history, its coverage spanning 1543 - 1945 from continental Europe, the US, the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. Consists of two segments: The Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series (comprised of monographs and pamphlets tracing suffragism, women's issues, and the history of organized movements).
Sex & Sexuality: Module I
Module I: Research Collections from the Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections
Sex & Sexuality covers a broad range of topics and is drawn from leading archives around the world. Module I focuses on sexology and the work of sex researchers, combining advice sought by members of the public with the corresponding answers, thoughts on research proposals and work sent by academics and medical professionals to the Kinsey Institute. It also includes pamphlets and flyers from various organizations and advocacy groups, discussions surrounding sexual behaviors, and the corpus of donated work from researchers looking at specific areas – for example Alice Field, who worked specifically on sex offenders in New York and young girls remanded for prostitution in the wayward minors court.
Please note: You will be required to verify that you are over the age of consent in your country in order to view the content of this database. Selecting "cancel" will return you to the homepage, but will not bypass the consent screen should you try to view content.
Sex & Sexuality: Module II
Module II: Self-Expression, Community and Identity
The second module of Sex & Sexuality is focused upon the lived experiences of individuals from across the spectrum of human sexuality, including heterosexual and LGBTQI+ experiences, at different times in history – specifically from the nineteenth century up to the present day. It also covers the criminalization of sexuality; both in terms of sex work but also the relentless prosecution and persecution of, mostly men, for "homosexual acts". Flashpoints in LGBT history such as the Stonewall riots and the resulting movements for change and grass-roots activism that we are still experiencing today are also represented within these documents. There is coverage on the establishment of Pride parades which were an act of social defiance at the time, as well as interviews with patients and public consciousness-raising efforts from the devastating HIV/AIDs crisis.
Please note: You will be required to verify that you are over the age of consent in your country in order to view the content of this database. Selecting "cancel" will return you to the homepage, but will not bypass the consent screen should you try to view content.
Resources Available Online
Manuscript Collections at GSU
- Franklin Abbott Papers
Poet, psychotherapist, activist, and original member of the Radical Faeries, Abbott's papers include extensive personal correspondence, conference proceedings, printed and audio-visual items, and materials related to his published works. In process.
Selected materials from the Franklin Abbott Papers have been digitized for preservation and educational puropses. They can be found here.
- Ken Anderson Papers
Ken Anderson is a novelist, poet and playright from Atlanta, Georgia. He is especially known for his works The Intense Lover, Someone Bought the House on the Island, Hasty Hearts, and the play Mattie Cushman: A Psychodrama. He also served as a professor of English at Kennesaw State University in Georgia.
- Atlanta Gay and Lesbian Center Records
Founded in 1976, the Atlanta Gay Center was a community center that served the gay community in Atlanta, GA. It has since closed and been replaced by the Atlanta Gay and Lesbian Community Center. The center published a bi-weekly newspaper, and operated the Gay Helpline for the Atlanta area. The center was the meeting place for several support groups including those for teens, interracial couples, older couples, and P-FLAG. During the early 1980s, in the early days of HIV/AIDS awareness, the Atlanta Gay Center offered free testing and support groups.
- Atlanta Feminist Women's Chorus Records
The Atlanta Feminist Women's Chorus (AFWC) performed in Atlanta, the Southeast and the United States from 1981-2009. The AFWC records document the formation and life of the group as well as its interaction with Atlanta and the LGBTQ community. Records include office files, photographs, audio and video recordings, textiles, and artifacts.
- Gayle Austin Papers
Coordinator and literacy manager for the Women's Project in New York City before becoming a professor of Communication at Georgia State University, Gayle Austin's papers reflect her scholarly interest in gender and performance, dramaturgy, and interdisciplinary forms of performance. Included are research and course materials as well as records related to theatrical productions and performances.
- M. Charlene Ball Papers
M. Charlene Ball worked as the Administrative Coordinator of the Women's Studies Institute at Georgia State University. She writes about feminist revisionist archetypal theory, revisionist Jungian theory, lesbian writing, and the writing of borderland authors. She also studies feminist utopian writing. Her papers reflect her work in the Women’s Studies Institute at GSU and her participation in the Atlanta Feminist Women’s Chorus and Atlanta’s lesbian music scene.
- Hugo Berston Papers
The Hugo Berston papers consist of gay pin up calendars and catalogues, adult literature, advertisements, flyers and gay vacation planners and fans, 1975-2008. The papers include publications and ephemera related to many events organized by and for the gay community in Atlanta, Georgia, including Atlanta Pride Festivals.
- Terry Bird Atlanta Lesbian and Gay History Thing Records
Terry Bird is a retired attorney who served as secretary of the Atlanta Lesbian and Gay History Thing, Inc. The Terry Bird Collection of Atlanta Lesbian and Gay History Thing, Inc. records, 1981-1999 (bulk 1988-1995), consist of inventories and artifact lists, exhibition materials, artifact loan agreements, corporate records, contact lists, correspondence, event flyers, financial records, fundraising materials, meeting agendas and minutes, handwritten notes, newsletters, news clippings, and materials from other gay and lesbian organizations.
- Carol Brown Papers
The papers provide a thorough documentation of Cobb County anti-gay activities and the response to those activities in the 1990's. Included are an extensive news clipping collection, records, videos and artifacts.
- Jim Blythe Buffalo Chips Records
The Buffalo Chips were an all-male gay clogging group that performed at the World’s Fair in 1982 in Knoxville, Tennessee, and at the International Mr. Leather Contest in Chicago.
Selected materials from the Jim Blyth Buffalo Chips Records have been digitized for preservation and educational puropses. They can be found here.
- Candy Carson Artifact Collection
Collection includes t-shirts and buttons relating to LGBTQ issues, and includes materials from Atlanta's gay bars.
- H. Foster Corbin Papers
- Thomas H. Crim, Jr. Papers
Thomas H. Crim, Jr. (1918-2000) lived in Evans, Georgia, from around 1935. From 1984-1993, he wrote to the Augusta Chronicle to defend both gay rights and smokers' rights to columnists, most notably Dartmouth College professor Jeffrey Hart. The majority of his papers consist of editorials, articles, and letters to the editor from the Augusta Chronicle.
Selected materials from the Thomas H. Crim Jr. Papers have been digitized for preservation and educational puropses. They can be found here.
- Maria Helena Dolan Papers
- Jim Elledge Papers
The Jim Elledge papers, 1827 to 2015 [bulk 1971-2006] include Elledge's personal and research materials as an English-poetry professor, and document his prolific writing career as a novelist and as a poet, reflecting the publishing process through editorial correspondence and forms.
- EstroFest Production Records
Active between 1999 and 2003, EstroFest Productions, Inc. produced and sponsored programs that promoted and affirmed the creative talents and technical skills of women in the visual, performing and fine arts. The records contain administrative records, documentation of EstroFest performances, and reference files.
- Lorraine Fontana Papers
Lesbian and civil rights activist Lorraine Fontana's papers relate to her participation in the Atlanta Lesbian-Feminist Alliance (ALFA), Gay Pride, and a variety of social justice issues.
- Gay Spirit Visions Records
Established as an all-volunteer group of men in 1989, Gay Spirit Visions is committed to creating safe, sacred space that is open to all spiritual paths, wherein men who love men may explore and strengthen spiritual identity. Every year GSV holds retreats and conferences that are attended by men from all over the United States. Embracing the consensus-based approach of the Radical Faeries, Gay Spirit Visions originally had no officers or titles. In 1996, they incorporated, and established the Council of Gay Spirit Visions to oversee the conference planning. As time passed, further administrative positions were established, reflecting the increasingly complex activities of the organization.
Selected materials from the Gay Spirit Visions Records have been digitized for preservation and educational puropses. They can be found here.
- Gender and Sexuality Periodicals
The Gender and Sexuality Periodicals collection is an artificial collection of serial publications for and about the LGBTQ communities in Atlanta, the United States and various countries around the world. Materials are usually received by Special Collections along with donated manuscript collections.
- Dave Hayward Papers
A core member of Atlanta's 1972 Gay Pride committee, Dave Hayward is one of the first openly gay journalists in Atlanta and Georgia. He has written for LGBT publications, including The Advocate, OUT Magazine, and Frontiers, as well as mainstream publications such as People and Backstage Magazine. Working with gay activist Berl Boykin, Hayward co-founded Touching Up Our Roots, Inc., Georgia's LGBT History Project. Working with Touching Up Our Roots' administrator, Fred Brazzell, he has interviewed many LGBT activists in the state. Hayward currently serves on the National Center for Civil and Human Rights Global Advisory Board. In process.
- Leather Lifestyle Erotica
The Leather Lifestyle Erotica is comprised of photographs, artwork and monographs depicting gay sexuality and in particular, the leather lifestyle. Artists include Tom of Finalnad, Arnell, Quaintance, Luger, and Larry Townsend.
- LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen Papers
The LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen's papers, 1956-2016 (bulk 1989-1993) consist of documents surrounding his work as an AIDS Activist in Atlanta with the group ACT UP (AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power), from the late 1980s to late 1990s, with the motto "Silence = Death". Much of the gay community was trying to understand and fight the AIDS epidemic. The papers consist of flyers, fact sheets, correspondence, articles, surveys, questionnaires and a variety of ephemera from the many demonstrations and activist activities he was championing.
- LGBTQ Institute's Gregg Daugherty Papers
The LGBTQ Institute's Gregg Daugherty Papers include photographs, programs, publications and digital objects. The bulk of the photographs document drag queens and performers who appeared in Atlanta's gay bars. The programs primarily highlight gay plays and events, and the publications were distributed to Georgia's gay communities.
- LGBTQ Institute's Mike Maloney OutTV Video Collection
OutTV Atlanta, a half-hour weekly news and entertainment show focused on LGBTQ life, ran from 1999-2001. The brainchild of Michael B. Maloney, the show was supported financially by Maloney’s family and friends. Maloney used his funds to purchase air time, and OutTV aired in Atlanta and Savannah. As producer of the show, Maloney saw that most of the coverage of LGBTQ life involved night clubs and drag queens, and he wanted to focus on “ordinary” gay people who were fire fighters, attorneys, and regular members of the community.
This digital collection contains about 230 digitized tapes of raw footage created in the process of making the show.
- Carl Owens Collection on Cracker Barrel Restaurants
A member of Queer Nation in Atlanta, Carl Owens actively campaigned against Cracker Barrel when, in the early 1990s, the company fired a lesbian employee. His "Buy One" campaign urged gays, lesbians, and friends of LGBT to buy a single share of Cracker Barrel stock, in order to pressure management to change their discriminatory policies. The collection is comprised of news articles, correspondence, press releases, financial reports, and one photograph, related to the "Buy One" campaign.
- Richard Rhodes Papers
Richard Rhodes was the first openly gay delegate to the Democratic National Convention (1988), and also served as a delegate in 1992. In 1993, he made history as the first openly gay Chairman of the DeKalb Democratic Party. Rhodes helped found the SAGE organization for older LGBT residents in Atlanta, and is also active with Atlanta Prime Timers, a social organization that provides older gay and bisexual men the opportunity to enrich their lives. He received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Atlanta Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce for his pioneering work.
- Gil Robison Papers
- Ed Scruggs Papers
Ed Scruggs (1929-2009) was a gay and civil rights activist from Atlanta, Georgia who was active in the coalition to change the Georgia state flag. He graduated from Buford High School in 1948 and attended Emory University before serving in the US. Army during the Koeran War. Scruggs was also a retired violinist with the Atlanta Symphony and he was a member of the LGBT Veterans Organization, American Verterans for Equal Rights. The papers are comprised of newspaper clippings, photographs, correspondence, certificates and awards, comemorative materials from president Bill Clinton and information pertaining to the campaign to get the 1994 Olympics out of Cobb county.
- John Speaks Book Collection
An instructor of English as a Second Language at Georgia Perimeter College, John Thomas Speaks, Jr., was actively involved in the Atlanta community as a member of numerous progressive political groups. He was dedicated to equal rights for all people regardless of race, gender, class, religion or sexual orientation. The book collection reflects Speaks' interest in gender and sexuality. Currently being cataloged.
- Stonewall Bar Association of Georgia, Inc. Records
The Stonewall Bar Association of Georgia, Inc. ("Stonewall") is a professional association of attorneys, judges, law students, paralegals and other legal professionals who support the rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people, and who oppose discrimination based upon sexual orientation or gender identity.
- Bob Strain Papers
The Bob Strain papers include correspondence, newsletters, poems, and photographs related to Bob Strain's involvement with the organizations he served, including the Gay Spirit Visions (GSV) and the Atlanta Radical Faeries Circle.
- Steve Warren Papers
- Terri Wilder Papers
HIV/AIDS activist, Terri Wilder's Papers include printed materials, fliers, pamphlets, reports, artifacts and one DVD about ACT-UP, the Global Campaign for Microbicides, and the Hope Clinic at Emory University.
- Andrew P. Wood Papers
Graphic designer and gay activist, Andrew Wood has been a longtime member of the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence, and was a founding member of the Atlanta chapter of ACT UP. The Andrew P. Wood papers, 1987-2014 (bulk 1988-1990) consist of flyers, newspaper clippings, correspondence, t-shirts, bumper stickers, as well as extensive materials relating to the Atlanta chapter of ACT-UP. Most of the materials cover protests to highlight the plight of the gay community during the height of the AIDS crisis.
Materials from the Andrew P. Wood Papers have been digitized for preservation and educational purposes. They can be found here.
Oral Histories @ GSU
- Franklin Abbott (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
Psychotherapist, poet and social activist Franklin Abbott, was an original member of the Radical Faeries. He has participated in pro-feminist men’s conferences and has edited anthologies of writings by men about gender (the most recent is Boyhood: Growing Up Male, University of Wisconsin Press).
- Charles Anderson (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Ken Anderson (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Charles Ballance (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Roger Beaumont (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Kraig Blackwelder (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Hugo Berston (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Terry BIrd (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Terry Bird / Jimmy Gray (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Willis Bivins (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project / Touching Up Our Roots)
A patron of the Stonewall Inn before the raid in July of 1969 Willis Bivins also marched in the first Pride March in New York City in 1970. In Atlanta, Bivins was one of the founding members of Black and White Men Together Atlanta (BWMT), a "gay multiracial, multicultural organization committed to fostering supportive environments wherein racial and cultural barriers can be overcome and the goal of human equality realized".
- Berl Boykin (Touching Up Our Roots / Great Speckled Bird)
- John Brock (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Linda Bryant (Activist Women Oral History Project)
In 1974 Linda Bryant opened Charis Books and later, in the mid 1990s, established the community organization, Charis Circle. According to Bryant, “What we are and want to be is a bookstore and a non-profit that exists to promote and honor and celebrate feminist values of mutuality, independence, and compassion.”
- David Cable (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Jennifer Carroll (Activist Women Oral HIstory Project
Hair stylist Jennifer Carroll was diagnosed with HIV in 1990. Since the late 1990s, she has educated her salon’s clients about the illness, and has worked alongside educators in Troup and Rockdale counties to talk to young people about STDs and the importance of abstinence.
- John Carson (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Alvin Cotton (Gay Spirit Visions)
- James A. Creasy (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Goldy Criscuolo (Touching Up Our Roots)
Goldy Criscuolo was a straight ally for LGBT rights, and with her late husband Joe, led the Cracker Barrel (1991) and Olympics Out of Cobb (1996) demonstrations. Criscuolo's oral history was conducted when she was 92 years old. She died six weeks after being interviewed.
- Gregg Daugherty (Gender & Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Diamond Lil (Touching Up Our Roots)
DiamondLil began her career as a female impersonator in Savannah, GA during the early 1960s. In 1968, after moving to Atlanta, she was asked to headline a new drag show at Mrs. P's, She went on to be a well known figure in Atlanta's gay scene during the 1970s and 1980s. Using her own voice rather than lip synching, Diamond wrote and recorded her own songs, releasing an LP called The Queen of Diamonds in 1984. She also wrote columns for Atlanta's alternative newspaper The Great Speckled Bird, the gay newspaper Sunset People, and the nightlife magazine Cruise. As the AIDS epidemic took its toll, Diamond wrote many obituaries for the bar magazine Etcetera.
- Seth Feinberg (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Lorraine Fontana (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
Born in Queens, NY, in 1947, Lorraine Fontana became an anti-war activist and supporter of the Civil Rights and Black Empowerment Movements early in life. After joining VISTA in 1968, she came to Atlanta, and together with other feminists, founded the Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance (ALFA - 1972 to 1994), and later DARII (Dykes for the Second American Revolution). She trained at the People’s College of Law in L.A. (1976-79) and went on to work with the National Jury Project, Georgia Legal Services, the EEOC in New York City (Oct 1999 to Jan, 2004), and Georgia’s Lambda Legal Education & Defense Fund (2006-2012). She was a member of the short-lived Queer Progressive Agenda (QPA), and is currently a supporter of First Existentialist Congregation of Atlanta’s Social Justice Guild, the Georgia Peace & Justice Coalition, Charis Books, the Atlanta Grandmothers for Peace, SAGE Atlanta, and Southerners on New Ground.
- Michael Goatee (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Jeff Graham (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
After moving to Atlanta in 1989, Jeff Graham served as media coordinator for ACT UP/Atlanta. From 1994-2005, he served as the executive director of AIDS Survival Project, and he has been the Director of Georgia Equality since 2008. Graham’s advocacy work has been honored and recognized by a number of organizations, including the National Center for Human Rights Education, the Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta, Atlanta City Council and Southern Voice’s Best of Gay Atlanta. Graham was named the Grand Marshall of the 1999 Atlanta Pride celebration.
- Dave Hayward (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project / Touching Up Our Roots)
A core member of Atlanta's 1972 Gay Pride committee, Dave Hayward is one of the first openly gay journalists in Atlanta and Georgia. He has written for LGBT publications, including The Advocate, OUT Magazine, and Frontiers, as well as mainstream publications such as People and Backstage Magazine.
- Pat Hussain (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Craig Iverson-Cook (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Tony James (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Sonia Johnson (Georgia Women's Movement Oral History Project)
Feminist activist and writer Sonia Johnson was an outspoken supporter of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA). A fifth generation Mormon, Johnson was publicly critical of the position of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. She eventually was excommunicated from the church for her activities. She went on to publish several radical feminist books and become a popular feminist speaker.
- Winston Johnson (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project / Touching Up Our Roots)
While working for Eastern Airlines, Winston Johnson befriended Coretta Scott King, and enlisted her to actively advocate for LGBT rights and freedoms.
- Allen Jones (Touching Up Our Roots)
- Jim Jones (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Gus Kaufman (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
Gus B. Kaufman, Jr., Ph.D. is a clinical psychologist who has practiced at An Open Space for twenty years. He has co-founded five non-profit organizations, including Men Stopping Violence, and published many chapters and articles.
- Gary Kaupman (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Peter Kendrick (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Elizabeth Knowlton (Georgia Women's Movement Oral History Project)
A member of various groups, including the Feminist Theatre Group, ALFA (Atlanta Feminist-Lesbian Alliance), Atlanta Socialist Feminist Women's Union, Woman Song Theatre II and the Writer's Group, Knowlton has published articles, book reviews, poems and political essays, including a paper on 19th Century Georgia lesbian love letters: "Only a Woman Like Yourself."
- Ron Lambe (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Don Lashley (Gay Spirit Visions / available in Reading Room only)
- Sarah Lopez (Activist Women Oral History Project / Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
Sarah Lopez, Ph.D. is a bilingual psychologist in clinical practice in Atlanta since 1982. Her ongoing commitment extends beyond the office to include social/cultural issues that create and maintain suffering such as injustice, violence, and oppression. An early responder to the mental health needs of the AIDS epidemic, she has co-facilitated a weekly pro bono HIV/AIDS therapy group for 21 years.
- Mike Maloney (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project / available in Reading Room only)
- Alejandro Martinez (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- George Miller (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Jesse Peel (Touching Up Our Roots)
Jesse Peel graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he attended medical school, then completed his residency in psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania. Witnessing the toll of the AIDS epidemic, Peel co-founded many of the major AIDS service organizations in Atlanta and Georgia, including AID Atlanta and Positive Impact, a mental health program for people with HIV and their friends, family and caregivers.
- Don Perryman (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Paul Plate (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Frances Pici (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Tonia Poteat (Activist Women Oral History Project)
AIDS activist and educator, Tonia Poteat has worked for the Global AIDS Program at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention where she helped to monitor HIV treatment programs in sub-Saharan Africa and to develop guidelines that low income countries could use to initiate and improve their programs.
- Amy Ray (Activist Women Oral History Project)
Amy Ray is a singer-songwriter and member of the Indigo Girls. She also pursues a solo career, releasing albums under her own name, and has founded a record company, Daemon Records. Ray supports grassroots activist causes, in particular those relating to the environment, human rights and women’s issues.
- Richard Rhodes (Touching Up Our Roots)
In 1988, Richard Rhodes was elected as Georgia's first openly gay delegate to the Democratic National Convention. He also went on to run for the Georgia House of Representatives as an openly gay man, and is believed to be the first gay man to run for elected office in the state. Rhodes helped found the SAGE Atlanta (Services and Advocacy for GLBT Elders).
- Gil Robison (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Emily Saliers (Activist Women Oral History Project)
Emily Saliers is a singer-songwriter and member of the Indigo Girls. She has also co-written a book with her father, Don Saliers, called A Song to Sing, a Life to Live: Reflections on Music as Spiritual Practice. Saliers supports grassroots activist causes, in particular those relating to the environment, human rights and women’s issues.
- David Salyer (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Sharon Sanders (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project / Karuna Oral History Project)
- Scott Simons (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Eleanor Smith (Karuna Counseling Oral History Project)
- Margo Smith (Activist Women Oral History Project)
With a long history of fundraising, Margo Smith served as Director of Development for the Atlanta Women's Foundation. She also held the positions of Executive Director for the Association of Battered Women of Clayton County and Executive Director of the Georgia Network Against Domestic Violence.
- Ricky Smith (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Charles Stephens (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project / Black Queer Leaders Oral History Project)
Charles Stephens used to be the African-American Gay Outreach Coordinator for AID Atlanta, and is now working for AIDS United. He is committed to art, social justice, and gay men’s health. Charles has recently contributed to the anthology "For Colored Boys Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Still Not Enough: Coming of Age, Coming Out, and Coming Home" and is co-editing the anthology "Black Gay Genius" about the legacy of Joseph Beam.
- Charles H. Stevens (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Robert Strain (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Erin Swenson (Touching Up Our Roots)
Reverend Erin Swenson is the first mainstream Prebyterian minister to transition from male to female and keep her ministry. She lobbies in Washington D.C. for LGBT rights with the Human Rights Campaign.
- Ray Taratoot (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Randy Taylor (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Duncan Teague (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Bruce Tidwell (Gay Spirit Visions)
- Jeff Willard (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
Social Activist Jeff Willard was born in St. Louis, MO. A volunteer for the ACLU of Georgia and Georgia Equality, he also serves on the board of the Jewish Community Relations Council of Atlanta, and is Co-Chair of the Social Action Committee for Temple Beth Tikvah. He was the Regional Co-Chair of the Social Action Committee for the New Jersey West Hudson Valley Council of the Union for Reform Judaism. He also served on the Union for Reform Judaism's National Commission for Social Action. He lives in Alpharetta, GA with his partner.
- Andrew Wood (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
Born in Atlanta in 1962, Andrew Wood is a graphic designer and gay activist. The son of two doctors, Wood attended public schools in Dekalb County and worked in public radio. When he moved to San Francisco to attend art school in 1980, he joined the thriving organization, the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence - a charitable group of gay activists who dressed in nuns habits and performed street theater. While in San Francisco, Wood experienced the AIDS epidemic which caused him to return to Atlanta. After the Democratic National Convention in 1988, he and a handful of fellow protesters started an Atlanta Chapter of ACT/UP, in an effort to bring attention to the plight of AIDS sufferers. Wood moved to New Orleans in 1990 and stayed there until 2004 when he returned to Atlanta.
- Cathy Woolard (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project / Activist Women Oral History Project)
- Renee Yawn (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)
- Don Young (Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project)