Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the AJC Photographic Archives
LGBTQ+ Periodicals in the Women and Gender Collections (Library South 8)
- ALFA Newsletter (Atlanta, GA: Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance), 1974 (Box A-2)
- Atlanta Feminist Women's Chorus Newsletter (Atlanta, GA: Atlanta Feminist Women's Chorus), 1987-2000 (Box A-8)
- Atlanta Lesbian Cancer Initiative. SpeakOut (Atlanta, GA: Atlanta Lesbian Cancer Initiative), 2003 (Box A-8)
- Common Lives/Lesbian Lives (Iowa City), 1981-1983 (Box C-4, C-5, C-6)
- Equality Notes: The Political Voice of Georgia's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgendered Citizens (Atlanta, GA: Georgia Equality Project), 2003 (Box E-2)
- Feminary (Chapel Hil, NC: Feminary), 1977-1978; 1980-1985 (Box F-1)
- GALAgram (Denver, CO: GALA Choruses, Inc.), 1990-2000; 2006 (Box G-1)
- Lesbian Insider, Insighter, Inciter (Minneapolis, MN: Women's Learning Institute), 1983 (Box L-1)
- Network News / Noticas de la Red (Boston, MA: Network for Battered Lesbians), 1996-1997; 1999 (Box N-3)
- Our Voice / Pride Institute (Eden Prairie, MN: The Institute), 1991 (Box O-1)
- Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays, Atlanta Chapter [PFLAG Newsletter] (Atlanta, GA: PFLAG), 1998 (Box P-1)
- The Reminder (Atlanta, GA: AIDS Education / Service for Minorities), 1995 (Box R-1)
- Sinister Wisdom (Lincoln, NE: Sinister Wisdom), 1976-1988 (Box S-3, S-4)
- Update / Fulton County Prevention Resource Center at PRIDE (Atlanta, GA: Fulton County Prevention Resource Center at PRIDE), 1998 (Box U-1)
- YouthPride. Outloud: A Newsletter for the Friends of YouthPride (Decatur, GA: YouthPride), 2004 (Box Y-1)
A finding aid is available with a full listing of periodicals in the Women and Gender Collections.
LGBT Life database: Periodicals
LGBT Life with Full Text database includes citations and abstracts for more than 200 LGBTQIQA-specific core journals, magazines, and other periodicals, and more than 360 LGBTQIQ-specific core books and reference works. Current periodicals included are:
Additionally, LGBT Life also includes full runs of these significant historic LGBT periodicals:
Citations for Atlanta's own Southern Voice are included back to 2002, with full-text beginning in 2004.
More LGBTQ+ and Sexuality Studies Periodicals
From the AJC Photographic Archives
GSU library databases which index a range of alternative newspapers and periodicals.
Focuses on how gender impacts perspectives on women's studies, men's studies, the transgendered community, and historical changes in gender roles, covering topics such as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the work place.
Underground Press Collection
The University of Georgia Library has the Underground Press Collection available on microfilm.
We may be able to receive reels of this collection via ILL. Request using the "Other (Free Text)" request option. Include:
- the name of the newspaper
- dates needed
- that you are requesting microform
Want to suggest additional resources for this guide? Have a purchase recommendation? Want to help with the oral histories projects? Need assistance with finding resources? Contact us!
Humanities Instruction Librarian
Gender & Sexuality Collections Archivist
Sociology/Data Services Librarian
Download the LGBTQ+ Resources @ the GSU Library flyer!