GSU Library Research Guides: Information for Health Sciences Faculty & Staff: Publishing

Books @ Georgia State

Getting Published in the Life Sciences by Richard J. Gladon; William R. Graves; J. Michael Kelly
Electronic Resource
How to Write a Paper by George M. Hall (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
Electronic Resource
How to write and publish a scientific paper by Robert A. Day
Call Number: T11 .D33 2016 (online access)
Library North 3
Publish and Prosper: A strategy guide for students and researchers by Nathaniel M. Lambert
Call Number: PN146 .L363 2014
Library North 4
Publishing and Presenting Clinical Research by Warren S. Browner
Call Number: R852 .B77 2012
Scientific writing and communication: Papers, proposals, and presentations by Angelika Hofmann
Call Number: Q223 .H63 2010
Library South 4
Writing for Publication in Nursing by Marilyn H. Oermann; Judith C. Hays
Electronic Resource

Open Access Publishing Resources

BioMed Central
The Open Access Publisher.
Creative Commons
"Creative Commons helps you publish your work online while letting others know exactly what they can and can't do with your work."
more...less...
"With a Creative Commons license, you keep your copyright but allow people to copy and distribute your work provided they give you credit — and only on the conditions you specify here."
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Edanz Journal Selector
Jane (Journal/Author Name Estimator)
Not Sure Where to Submit Your Paper? Jane is a free application that can suggest journals that have published similar articles.
National Institutes of Health Public Access
NIH Public Access Policy for NIH funded research.
Public Library of Science
Publish Not Perish
The Art & Craft of Publishing in Scholarly Journals, by the University Colorado (LOG IN As "other").
PubMed Central
A free archive of life sciences journals.
Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC)
Includes text of the SPARC Author Addendum to Publication Agreement, which allows researchers to keep certain rights to their work such as the right to redistribute.
Selecting Keywords for your Research
From the National Library of Medicine.
SlideShare
SlideShare is the world's largest community for sharing presentations.
Ulrich's Web
Not sure if your journal is peer-reviewed? Check here.

GSU Digital Archives

Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving

Search the links below to determine the archiving policy for inclusion in Georgia State University Library's institutional repository - the ScholarWorks @ Georgia State University. The purpose of the archive is to collect, preserve, and provide access to scholarship produced by faculty, students and staff at GSU. You may deposit your articles, thesis, dissertation, conference presentations, class materials, and other scholarly output in the Digital Archive to make it freely available to researchers. Participation in the institutional repository is voluntary; this is a service that the library is providing to ensure long-term preservation of your work and to increase access to your work.

SHERPA/RoMEO database (summaries of publishers' copyright transfer agreements as they relate to archiving)
List of publishers from the SHERPA/RoMEO database
Publishers allowing the deposition of their published version/PDF in Institutional Repositories
SHERPA/JuLIET database (summary of Open Access policies by various research funders as part of their grant awards)

Watch Out for Predatory Publishers

Have you been approached by a group who has offered to publish your paper? Before you sign anything, learn more about this rising deceitful trend in scholarly research.

SPARC Addendum

SPARC, the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, offers an Author Addendum, a free legal instrument that modifies the publisher’s agreement and allows you to keep key rights to your articles.

Click here to access the addendum.