Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Georgia Capitol Building ~ photo available on Wikimedia.com
For additional information about Atlanta, visit the library's Atlanta Government: Subject Guide
Atlanta City Data
City Data collects and analyzes data from a variety of government and private sources to create detailed, informative profiles for every city.
Georgia Census Data
Provides access to the U.S. Census Bureau's State and County Quick Facts data. Broken into three sections: People Quick Facts, Business Quick Facts, and Geography Quick Facts, the site offers key statistics associated with Georgia. Data can be limited to a specific county of city.
Georgia Election Statistics
From the Office of the Secretary of State. From the "Elections" page, click on "Results & Stats" and make a selection.
U.S. Capitol Building ~ photo available on Wikimedia.com
The United States government produces a large amount of data. A list of agencies that compile statistics can be found here. For U.S. election data and statistics, visit the library's Election Research Subject Guide. For data / statistics related to the U.S. Congress, visit the the library's U.S. Congress Subject Guide. For opinion research data, visit the library's general Political Science Subject Guide.
American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing statistical survey by the U.S. Census Bureau. The processed information provides yearly estimates for all states, as well as all cities, counties, metropolitan areas, and population groups of 65,000 people or more.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA's national, regional, and international economic accounts present basic information on such key issues as U.S. economic growth, regional economic development, and the Nation's position in the world economy.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. It collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential data on inflation, wages and earnings, employment, and productivity.
Census Data (U.S. Census Bureau)
The U.S. Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.
Home of the US government’s open data and includes Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.
A project of the Media Lab of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Data USA provides open, easy access visualization of U.S. government data
The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by more than 70 Federal government agencies that are of interest to the public.
Historical Statistics of the United States
A reference source for quantitative facts of American history, fully cross-referenced and indexed, providing easily searchable tables, their documentation, and essays, and covers migration, health, crime, the Confederate States of America, and more.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Seeks to advance and expand social and behavioral research by providing training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community as well a a data archive social science research.
As of April 22, 2019, OUP is no longer the distribution partner for Social Explorer. This database provides access to current and historical census data (back to 1790), demographic information, and interactive demographic maps that can be queried and manipulated; users can also create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Note: Create a personal account to save projects.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
A well-known and highly-valued statistical reference providing a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
EU Parliament ~ photo available on Wikimedia.com
Economist Intelligence Unit Viewswire
Delivers daily business intelligence on 203 countries, highlighting more than 250 important economic, political, and market developments around the works with concise analytical briefings on the business implications of those developments. Note: Most users will want to navigate this resource by country.
Global Terrorism Database
An open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2007 and systematic data on domestic, transnational, and international terrorist incidents.
A free resource providing access to over 60 million data points covering agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, populations, refugees, tourism, trade, and more.
World Bank Data
Provides open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe. The World Bank Data site is meant to provide all users with improved access to World Bank data and to make that data easy to find and use.
World Development Indicators (WDI Online)
A data source on the global economy, featuring statistical data on development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the present. The data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.