Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many database providers digitize material on specific topics from various archives and sell subscription access. Many of these database will require you to use a valid GSU login or VPN. GSU Library has subscriptions to the following databases:
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals. The library has access to the following titles: African American Newspapers, Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, Godey's Lady's Book, and the Pennsylvania Gazette.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of video available for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. GSU's records of the National Domestic Workers Union (NDWU) and selected portions of the United Garment Workers of America records have been digitized by Gale/Cengage Learning and made available to the Georgia State University community, both on and off-campus. Note: Image viewer requires Adobe Flash Player 10.0 or above.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A repository featuring images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, facilitating research and education. Note: Users must first register for an account on-campus with a GSU email address before accessing the resource off-campus. Start by clicking on the "Enter Artstor Digital Library" link at the top of the main Artstor page, then click on the "Register" link in the top right corner of the page under "Welcome to Artstor" and fill out the accompanying form. To access the resource from off-campus after registering, users must log in using the additional authentication step. Users must log into their accounts every 120 days from campus to re-set the remote access period. If you use a pop-up blocker, you will need to turn it off to access this resource. Faculty: For authorization code / password needed to access the Instructor Privileges Manager, please contact Nedda Ahmed (firstname.lastname@example.org). ARTstor is paid for in part by GSU Student Technology Fee.
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of C-SPAN programs since 1987. The C-SPAN Archives, which records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses, records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full-text.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery. These holdings are available for students, scholars, and other researchers affiliated with Georgia State University. While a few collections are accessible digitally, most materials can be borrowed via interlibrary loan. Note:
Request CRL materials through University Library using Illiad
; include a statement in the note field that the item is from CRL.
Civil Rights Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The CRDL links to primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of more than 30 hours of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.
Civil War in the American South This link opens in a new window
Georgia Knowledge Repository (GKR) This link opens in a new window
Presents research, scholarly, and archival content from institutional repositories from several Georgia colleges and universities: Albany State University, College of Coastal Georgia, Columbus State University, Georgia Gwinnett College, Georgia Institute of Technology, Georgia Regents University, Georgia Southern University, Georgia State University, Kennesaw State University, University of Georgia, and Valdosta State University.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest: Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950 - 1975 This link opens in a new window
Focusing on substantial collections of original archival material, Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. This resource offers thousands of color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
Note: If accessing from off-campus, you must enter "Georgia State University" under "Find your institution" to be brought to our login page.
Vanishing Georgia This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 18,000 photographs from the Georgia Archives documenting over 100 years of the state's history. Topics covered include family and business life, street scenes and architecture, agriculture, school and civic activities, important individuals and events in Georgia history, and landscapes.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 - 2000 This link opens in a new window
A resource for US and US women's history, specifically organized around the history of women in social movements in the US from 1600 - 2000. Contains document projects, archives of full-text documents, teaching tools, and book/film/website reviews.
Subscription Historical Newspaper Databases
GSU Library has subscriptions to the following historical newspaper databases, many of which you will need to login with your GSU login or VPN.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
This database provides access to over one million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century. The collection encompasses topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
African American Newspapers, Parts I - VIII This link opens in a new window
Provides information about the cultural life and history during the 19th century through first-hand reports of major events, biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements. Includes the Colored American, 1840-1841; Frederick Douglass' Paper (Continuation of the North Star), 1851-1855; Freedom's Journal, 1827- Mar. 1829; National Era, 1847-1860; Provincial Freeman, 1854-1857; The Christian Recorder, 1861-1870 and 1872-1882; The North Star, 1847-1851; and the Weekly Advocate/Colored American, 1837-1841.
African Newspapers, 1800 - 1922 (World Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published between 1800 and 1922. African Newspapers features titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. NOTE: Patrons must login with CampusID and password both on and off campus.
Atlanta Constitution, 1868 - 1984 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Constitution, historically known as "The Voice of the New South," is the only major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area. This is a full-image archive covering content 1868 - 1984 includes all articles, editorials, ads, and photographs.
Atlanta Daily World, 1931 - 2003 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Daily World is Atlanta's oldest continuously publishing African American newspaper and one of its oldest African American-owned business. Founded by W.A. Scott on August 5, 1928, it became America's first successful African American daily newspaper in 1933.
Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
Coverage spans 1847-1922 for the following titles: Atlanta Daily Examiner, Atlanta Daily Herald, Atlanta Georgian, Atlanta Intelligencer, Atlantian, Daily/Georgia Weekly Opinion, Gate-City Guardian, Georgia Literary and Temperance Crusader, New Era, Southern Confederacy, Southern Miscellany and Upper Georgia Whig, Southern World, Sunny South, and the Weekly Constitution.
Civil War, Part I: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of articles published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865 from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Enquirer. Includes eye-witness accounts, official reports of battles, editorials, advertisements, bibliographies, and descriptions of travel, arts and leisure, sports, and social events.
Digital Library of Georgia Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable issues of significant historical Georgia newspapers from Atlanta, Columbus, Macon, Milledgeville, and more.
Georgia Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An outgrowth of the Georgia Newspaper Project managed by the University of Georgia Libraries in an effort to identify and obtain copies of every newspaper ever published in Georgia. Also includes "The South Georgia Newspapers Archives" which provides access to six newspaper titles published in four south Georgia cities (Albany, Americus, Thomasville, Valdosta) from 1845 to 1922. The archive also provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date.
Pennsylvania Gazette, Folios I - IV This link opens in a new window
Published from 1728 to 1800, the Gazette provides a first-hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic by offering social, political, and cultural perspectives, including articles, editorials, letters, news items, and advertisements. Includes Benjamin Franklin's Newspaper (1728–1750); The French & Indian War (1751–1765); The American Revolution (1766–1783); and The New Republic (1784–1800).
West Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
Coverage spans 1843 - 1942 for the following titles: Butler Herald (1876 - 1942), Carroll Free Press (1883 - 1922), Douglas County Sentinel (1917 - 1922), LaGrange Herald (1843 - 1844), LaGrange Reporter (1857 - 1914), Paulding/Dallas New Era (1883 - 1908).