Remote Archival Research: Non GSU Resources

• ArchiveGrid is a freely available site from OCLC which includes nearly two million archival material descriptions from repositories in the US, including records from WorldCat and finding aids harvested from the web.
  • Browsable by topic, US state, country
  • Using "Result Overview," results can be sorted by a number of options, including person, group, place, archive, archive location, and topics(Library of Congress Subject Headings)
  • Each result also includes contact information for repository holding that collection.
• DPLA: Digital Public Library of America: Contains nearly 35 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the U.S. Search or browse by topic or contributor, explore primary source sets and online exhibitions.
• Internet Archive: A vast site with millions of texts, images, audio and video recordings, software and websites. Many institutions upload their digital collections here in addition to or instead of putting them on their own websites. One way to approach the site is to start with a COLLECTION like AMERICAN LIBRARIES, and then search and narrow down results from there. Put phrases in quotes, use the date range, Topics & Subjects, Language, and other filters. Avanced Search is also available.
• World Digital Library: "The WDL makes available ... significant primary materials from all countries and cultures." Search or browse by place, time, topic, format, language, or contributing institution.
• HathiTrust

The following research libraries have notable digital collections and this list is a sampling of resources available. In most cases, the digitized items available represent only a small fraction of the library's holdings.

• New York Public Library: New York's public library is also a major research repository. Includes the NYPL Digital Gallery and many archival materials

• American Museum of Natural History - Anthropology: "Over 250,000 ethnographic and archaeological objects representing the peoples of the Americas, Africa, Asia, Europe and the Pacific Islands have been digitally imaged and are accessible online."

• American Museum of Natural History - Virtual Library: Includes AMHN Scientific Publications, digitized scientific manuscripts and field notes, and other popular publications.

• Archives of American Art: "a virtual repository of a substantial cross-section of the Archives' most significant collections. Since 2005, over 240 archival collections have been digitized and posted online comprising 2.9 million images. In addition, nearly 18,000 documents have been individually cataloged and are accessible through the Search and Browse interface."

• Bodleian Library - Digital Bodleian: Over 900,000 images from the Bodleian's vast collections, discoverable in one place. Freely available online.

• Harvard Digital Collections: "Provides free, public access to more than 6 million objects digitized from our collections - from ancient art to modern manuscripts and audio visual materials."

• National Museum of Natural History - Anthropology Dept.: "Research in the Department of Anthropology spans from the emergence of our earliest ancestors to the ways communities sustain their cultures in today’s globalized societies. The collections are a vast and unparalleled resource for inquiry into the cultures, arts, and technologies of the world's peoples, from deep in prehistory to the present day."

• New-York Historical Society Digital Collections

• Ransom Center Digital Collections: "These collections represent just a sample of the Ransom Center's diverse holdings in literature, photography, film, art, and the performing arts." It includes over 90 collections.

• Smithsonian Libraries - Digital Library: "Includes over seven thousand rare books, journals and manuscripts online ranging from advertising and aeronautics to zinc sculpture and Zuni cuisine, though the focus is on the broad topics of History and Culture, Art and Design, and Science and Technology." 

• Tulane University Digital Library "Rare and unique collections in the areas such as Latin American Studies, jazz, New Orleans and Louisiana History and architecture..."

• University of Washington Digital Collections: "Features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries (including Special Collections), University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW Libraries. The collections emphasize rare and unique materials." 

• Yale University Digital Collections: 

• Atlanta History Center Archives (Kenan Research Center): Collects primary and secondary source materials in all formats conveying the history of Atlanta and the culture of the American south.  Besides Atlanta materials, collection strengths include the Civil War, southeast family history, architecture & decorative arts, and garden history.
• Atlanta University Center Archives and Special Collections: Collections primarily document the African American experience through civil rights, race relations, education, literature, visual and performing arts, religion, politics, and social work.
• Georgia Archives: Run by the Archives & History Division of the Georgia government - collects, manages, and preserves official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. Materials include vital records, land records, federal and state census records, photographs, and more.
• Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History: A division of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System - the nation's second largest archives specializing in the history of African Americans and Africans in the Diaspora. 
• The William Breman Jewish Heritage & Holocaust Museum: This cultural center and archive collects artifacts and information about Jewish history.  Areas of strength include the Holocaust and the experience of Jews in the Southeast, particularly Georgia and Alabama.
• Emory University's Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (MARBL): Collections span more than 800 years of history — with particular depth in modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South.
• Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library of the University of Georgia: Includes the Rare Book Collection, Historical Manuscripts, and the Georgiana Collection. Subject interests include Georgia, book arts, theater, music, history, literature, journalism and genealogy.
• Jimmy Carter Library & Museum: Part of the Presidential Libraries system administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
• National Archives - Southeast Region, Atlanta: Regional library administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
• Georgia Historical Society: Oldest and most distinguished collection of materials related exclusively to Georgia history in the nation. Locations in Atlanta and Savannah.

• Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (NYPL): Major research center for the study and interpretation of peoples of African descent.
•  Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative: "By making the form and content of cuneiform texts available online, the CDLI is opening pathways to the rich historical tradition of the ancient Middle East. In close collaboration with researchers, museums and an engaged public, the project seeks to unharness the extraordinary content of these earliest witnesses to our shared world heritage."
• Digital Scriptorium: "[A] growing consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts."
• Medical Heritage Library: "[A] digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine."

• Umbra Search African American History: "Brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country [to] makes African American history more broadly accessible."

• Digital Transgender Archive: The purpose of the DTA "is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."
• Biodiversity Heritage Library

• Big Sky Country Digital Network
• Colorado Virtual Library
• Connecticut Digital Archive
• Digital Commonwealth
• Digital Maine
• Digital Maryland
• Digital Public Library of Georgia
• Digital Library of Tennessee
• Illinois Digital Heritage Hub
• Kentucky Digital Library
• Library of Michigan Digital 
• Louisiana Digital Library 
• Mountain West Digital Library
• Native Northeast Portal
• New York Heritage Digital Collections
• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
• Online Archive of California
• PA Digital
• Recollection Wisconsin
• South Carolina Digital Library
• The Portal to Texas History

• U. S. National Archives and Records Administration: Preserves documents and records of the US Federal government.
• Library of Congress: Massive collection of resources; large collection of online primary sources available through their American Memory project. 

  • Library of Congress Digital Collections

  • Library of Congress Collections with Manuscripts

• United States Government Publishing Office (GPO)

• GA State Archive

Remember: you can always use Google to locate the website for a country's national library or national archives.

• National Archives and Records Adminstration: List of International Archives: The United States' National Archives and Records Adminstration maintains a list of national archives worldwide. List is organized by country.

• Archives Hub: Search across descriptions of archives held at over 250 United Kingdom institutions.

• National Archives (UK)

• Archives de France

• Archivo General de la Nacion (Mexico)

• National Libraries of Africa: National Library of South Africa database of national libraries in Africa.

• Endangered Archives Programme - British Library: "The Endangered Archives Programme facilitates the digitisation of archives around the world that are in danger of destruction, neglect or physical deterioration. ... Since 2004, the [EAP] has digitised over 7 million images and 25 thousand sound tracks. Archive types digitised ... include rare printed sources, manuscripts, visual materials, audio recordings."